B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!


by Black Violin Black Violin


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, July 8


Stereotypes marks the third LP but major-label debut for hip-hop/classical crossover duo Black Violin, who also incorporate jazz, R&B, roots, rap, and pop into their unconstrained sound. Violinist Marcus and violist Wil B invited numerous collaborators to the recording, including but not limited to Grammy-winning singer Melanie Fiona, rapper Pharoahe Monch, keyboardist Ray Angry (Dianne Reeves, Elvis Costello), drummer Daru Jones (Jack White, Talib Kweli), string arranger/performer Rob Moose (yMusic, Alabama Shakes, Bon Iver), and producer Eli Wolf (Norah Jones, Digable Planets). Much more likely to appeal to open-minded hip-hop devotees and those with eclectic tastes than to strict classical fans, the impressive collection offers 11 original tunes, including the atmospheric and wistful "Addiction" and virtuosic instrumental "Runnin'," as well as a funky, mostly instrumental cover of the Bacharach-David classic "Walk on By."

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 09/18/2015
Label: Universal Classics
UPC: 0602547469168
catalogNumber: 002368002
Rank: 80872


  1. Stereotypes
  2. Invisible
  3. Another Chance
  4. Addiction
  5. Shaker
  6. Send Me A Sign
  7. Walk on By
  8. Day 2
  9. Magic
  10. Stay Clear
  11. Losing Control
  12. Runnin'

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Black Violin   Primary Artist,Ensemble
Angela Johnson   Background Vocals
James Poyser   Keyboards
Black Thought   Vocals
Pharoahe Monch   Vocals
Eric Krasno   Guitar
Robert Glasper   Keyboards
Rob Moose   Strings
Daru Jones   Drums
Melanie Fiona   Vocals
Carty   Bass (Vocal)
Ray Angry   Organ,Piano,Keyboards
Kevin Marcus Sylvester   Violin,Vocals
Wilner Baptiste   Viola,Vocals
Kandace Springs   Vocals

Technical Credits

Burt Bacharach   Composer
Hal David   Composer
Angela Johnson   Producer
James Poyser   Composer,Programming
Carl Sturken   Engineer
Gavin Taylor   Artwork,Art Direction
Tariq Trotter   Composer
Eli Wolf   Producer
Dave Gutter   Composer
Steve Mandel   Engineer
Eric Krasno   Composer,Programming
Angela Hunte   Composer,Producer
DJ Infamous   Programming
Rob Moose   Orchestration,String Arrangements
Diko Shoturma   Engineer
Joseph Brackett   Composer
Elizabeth Sobol   Executive Producer
Leslie Collman-Smith   Marketing
Troy Jamerson   Composer
Ray Angry   Composer
Alby Cohen   Engineer
Juan Losada   Engineer
Joseph Salamida   Engineer
Kevin Marcus Sylvester   Composer
Lance Powell   Engineer
Wilner Baptiste   Composer,Programming
Marco Rodriguez   Composer
Malik Abdul-Rahmaan   Programming
Andrea Martin   Composer,Producer
Kevin Gomez   Engineer

Customer Reviews