Stephen Hough's French Album

Stephen Hough's French Album

by Stephen HoughStephen Hough


$20.58 $20.99 Save 2% Current price is $20.58, Original price is $20.99. You Save 2%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, May 12


One of the most imaginative pianists of his generation, Stephen Hough has recorded music across the spectrum, from the great concertos to character sketches, and he has often presented them on albums with appealing themes. In the case of Stephen Hough's French Album, he plays a selection of short pieces by Romantic and modern composers, including Gabriel Fauré, Maurice Ravel, Emmanuel Chabrier, Jules Massenet, Francis Poulenc, Cécile Chaminade, Charles-Valentin Alkan, Claude Debussy, and Léo Delibes. The roster requires little explanation, for these are among the best-loved French composers for the piano, and Hough's affection for their music is readily apparent in his flashy and witty renditions. What's odd about this album, though, is the lead-off with J.S. Bach's "Toccata and Fugue in D minor" and the Arioso from the "Harpsichord Concerto No. 5," as arranged by Swiss-born Alfred Cortot, and the closing track of Franz Liszt's "Réminiscences de La Juive: Fantaisie brillante sur des motifs de l'opéra de Halévy." While the Liszt piece can be reconciled with the rest of the album on the grounds that this is the most practical way a pianist can include any music by Fromental Halévy, an important operatic composer of the early 19th century, the Bach/Cortot transcriptions seem out of left field. While Hough undoubtedly finds Cortot's treatment of these German classics to be refined and characteristically French, the point isn't easily grasped by listeners. Still, Hough's thoughtful interpretations and charming playing make the album work, so the eccentricities of the program become minor issues. Hyperion's reproduction is clean and crisp, so Hough's precise execution is easy to appreciate.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/12/2012
Label: Hyperion
UPC: 0034571178905
catalogNumber: 67890
Rank: 68614


  1. Réminiscences de La Juive, transcription for piano (after Halévy), S. 409a (LW A20)
  2. Sylvia, suite from the ballet: Pizzicati
  3. Clair de lune, for piano (Suite Bergamasque No. 3), L. 75/3
  4. Chanson de la Folle Au Bord de la Mer, prelude for piano in A flat minor (Préludes dans tous les tons majeurs No. 8), Op. 31/8
  5. Etudes de concert, for piano, Op. 35: No. 2 Automne
  6. Improvisation No. 8 for piano in A minor (Presto), FP 63/8
  7. Nocturne No. 4 for piano in C minor ("Bal fantôme"), FP 56/4
  8. Mélancolie, for piano, FP 105
  9. Pièces pittoresques (10), for piano: Mélancolie
  10. Crépuscule: Comme un rideau sous la blancheur, for voice & piano (from "Mélodies, Vol.1")
  11. Alborada del Gracioso, for orchestra
  12. Barcarolle for piano No. 5 in F sharp minor, Op. 66
  13. Impromptu for piano No. 5 in F sharp minor, Op. 102
  14. Improvisation for piano in C sharp minor (Huit pièces brèves), Op. 84/5
  15. Nocturne for piano No. 6 in D flat Major, Op. 63
  16. Concerto for harpsichord, strings & continuo No. 5 in F minor, BWV 1056: Arioso
  17. Toccata and Fugue, for organ in D minor, BWV 565 (BC J37)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews