Step in the Arena

Step in the Arena

by Gang StarrGang Starr

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record - 180 Gram Vinyl)

View All Available Formats & Editions


The album on which DJ Premier and Guru perfected the template that would launch them into underground stardom and a modicum of mainstream success. Guru's deadpan monotone delivery was shockingly different from other early-'90s MCs, many of who were either substituting charisma for substance or engaging in hardcore "realism" without really commenting on black inner-city life or offering ways to alter the situation for the better. But it is Guru who sounded like the real clarion call of and to the street on Step in the Arena ("Why bring ignorance/where we're inviting you to get advancement," he intones on "Form of Intellect"). Step in the Arena was the first real mature flowering of his street-wise sagacity. His voice would grow more assured by the next album, but here Guru imparts urban wisdom of a strikingly visible variety. It's easy to allow yourself to get caught up in the fantasy of hardcore rap, but it is somewhat more involving and disorienting to hear truth that avoids exaggeration or glorification. Guru is not easy on any aspect of the inner city, from the "snakes" that exploit the community ("Execution of a Chump") to those that are a product of it ("Just to Get a Rep"), and the result is a surprising but hard-fought compassion ("Who's Gonna Take the Weight?" pleads for the acceptance of responsibility, for not taking the easy path). He seems to have somehow developed a hopefulness out of the bleak surroundings. DJ Premier was already near the top of his game at this early point. His production seems less jazz-fueled on Step in the Arena, opting more for spare guitar lines and tight beats, as well as his unmistakable vocal cut-up style of scratching for a slightly warped and out-of-phase soundscape.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/28/2019
Label: Virgin Records Us
UPC: 0602577555855
catalogNumber: 003001301


Disc 1

  1. Name Tag (Premier & The Guru)
  2. Step in the Arena
  3. Form of Intellect
  4. Execution of a Chump (NoMore Mr. Nice Guy, Pt. 2)
  5. Who's Gonna Take the Weight?
  6. Beyond Comprehension
  7. Check the Technique
  8. Lovesick
  9. Here Today, Gone Tomorrow
  10. Game Plan

Disc 2

  1. Take a Rest
  2. What You Want This Time?
  3. Street Ministry
  4. Just to Get a Rep
  5. Say Your Prayers
  6. As I Read My S-A
  7. Precisely the Right Rhymes
  8. The Meaning of the Name
  9. Credit Is Due
  10. Check the Technique

Album Credits

Customer Reviews