Stars: The Anthology

Stars: The Anthology

Paperback

$18.50
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

Janis Ian and 30 top science fiction writers team up to create an astonishing book of original short fiction. STARS is a huge anthology in both volume and talent. Each story, available only here, is based on a Janis Ian song that meant something special to the author, who then wrote the story expressly for STARS, creating a meld of jazz, prose and science fiction found nowhere else -a treasure trove for fans of both SF and Janis Ian! Also, this edition of STARS features an original new story by Michael Swanwick, "For I Have Lain Me Down on The Stone of Loneliness and I'll Not Be Back Again" based on "Mary's Eyes", a Janis Ian song that has always moved him to tears.

STARS was compiled and edited by Mike Resnick and Janis Ian and includes stories by Nebula winners and science fiction greats such as Joe Haldeman, Jane Yolen, Gregory Benford, Orson Scott Card, and more. It also includes Ian's first original story, "Prayerville."

As Janis herself says, "The stories have heart. They have life. They have truth. They move me. As an artist, I can ask for nothing more."

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781939051226
Publisher: Janis Ian / Rude Girl Press
Publication date: 01/23/2014
Pages: 392
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.87(d)

About the Author

Janis Ian began her career as a singer-songwriter in the 1960s with "Society's Child." In 1975, she won her first Grammy Award for the self-penned song, "At Seventeen" . Since then she has had #1 hits all over the world, sold more than 10 million albums, and had her songs recorded by such diverse artists as Bette Midler, Roberta Flack, and John Mellencamp. She shows no signs of slowing down, recently beginning yet another career as an audio book narrator (which earned her a ninth nomination and second Grammy in 2013 for Society's Child: My Autobiography).

Among her current projects are The Tiny Mouse, her first children's book; a series of master classes with the Stella Adler School; tours of Europe, the United Kingdom, and Japan, a young adult novel, and a series of new recordings.

Table of Contents

Introduction1
Come Dance with me9
The Scent of Trumpets, the Voices of Smoke28
Finding my Shadow48
Ride me Like a Wave66
In Fading Suns and Dying Moons72
On the Other Side93
Nightmare Mountain109
On the Edge146
Two Faces of Love165
Immortality189
Hunger199
Society's Stepchild219
Murdering Stravinsky or Two Sit-Downs in Paris247
Society's Goy257
Second Person Unmasked268
Play Like a Girl279
All in a Blaze292
Cartoons302
Old Photographs305
Ej-Es319
You Don't Know my Heart342
Riding Janis363
East of the Sun, West of Acousticville377
Hopper Painting403
An Indeterminate State423
This House437
Calling your Name455
Shadow in the City471
Joe Steele489
Inventing Lovers on the Phone505

Customer Reviews