by Michael W. Smith


23 New & Used Starting at $1.99


Following successes in rock, dance, instrumental and more traditional worship, Michael W. Smith sees no need for further reinvention with his 2006 album Stand. It is an unapologetic commentary that suggests Smith may never run out of polished, heartfelt gems. Stand is another well-produced, balanced collection that neither wins nor loses him any fans. The album title leaves room for multiple interpretations, most likely referring to his unwavering faith but possibly also conferring his desire to stand up for the music that suits him best. Over the years, that has proven to be piano-driven ballads that resonate with the struggling, the suffering and the lost. In that sense the album treads familiar territory, yet "safe" is an inaccurate descriptor since it would connote a lack of ambition. To the contrary, Smith sets grand expectations from the opening rim shots of "Cover Me." The album reaches a tipping point following the rousing "Come to the Cross," closing out with a half-dozen of his trademark ballads. Standout tracks include "How to Say Goodbye," "In Silence" and the contagiously melodic "Escape Your Love." Youth's voices lend a slow build to album closer "Come See" though it's not quite the cathartic equivalent of "All I Want," the last track on 2004's Healing Rain. Regardless, Smith can seemingly do no wrong. Stand continues to endear him to his contemporary Christian and crossover listeners.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/07/2006
Label: Reunion
UPC: 0602341010924
catalogNumber: 10109

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Michael W. Smith   Primary Artist,Piano,Vocals
Rusty Anderson   Guitar
Luis Conte   Percussion
David Davidson   Violin
Bruce Gaitsch   Guitar
DeMarco Johnson   Harmonica
Michael Olson   Choir, Chorus
Patrick Warren   Keyboards,chamberlain
Jeremy Bose   Accordion
Lindsay Jamieson   Drums
Anna Smith   Choir, Chorus
Emily Smith   Choir, Chorus
Paul Moak   Guitar
Whitney Smith   Choir, Chorus
Lani Crump   Choir, Chorus
James Gregory   Bass

Technical Credits

Amy Grant   Composer
Michael W. Smith   Composer,Executive Producer
Jonathan Rathbone   String Arrangements
Debbie Smith   Composer
Matt Bronleewe   Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Ryan Smith   Composer
Tim Parker   Art Direction
Tyler Smith   Composer
Stephanie McBrayer   Art Direction
Paul Moak   Instrumentation
Rusty Varenkamp   Engineer
Joel Houston   Composer
Dave Steunebrink   Mixing Coordinator
Alice Smith   Mixing Coordinator
Whitney Smith   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Stand 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This CD is typical Michael W. Smith. It contains original songs and they are beautiful. I think this is one of the better Michael W. Smith CD's.