Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Space Chase: 1980-1985

Space Chase: 1980-1985

by Hawkwind Hawkwind
Space Chase: 1980-1985

Space Chase: 1980-1985

by Hawkwind Hawkwind


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, September 29


This single-disc compilation is drawn from the Levitation, Sonic Attack, Choose Your Masques, and Chronicle of the Black Sword albums. It was a particularly fertile and disruptive period during the band's history when Hawkwind founder Dave Brock, bassist Harvey Bainbridge, and guitarist Huw Lloyd-Langton employed a plethora of drummers, including Simon King, Ginger Baker, Martin Griffin, the Cure's Andy Anderson, New Model Army's Rob Heaton, and Clive Deamer. Other interesting personnel from these years included the return of Nik Turner, Phil "Dead Fred" Reeves, and even Michael Moorcock. While the albums these tracks were drawn from were often uneven, this compilation holds together quite well. In addition to album tracks, it includes the "Silver Machine" (1982 single version) b/w "Waiting for Tomorrow" 7," the live A-side of "Shot Down in the Night," and "Dragons & Fables" from the Earth Ritual Preview EP.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 07/12/2011
Label: Cleopatra
UPC: 0741157610628
catalogNumber: 6106
Rank: 182800


  1. Levitation
  2. Motor Way City
  3. World of Tiers
  4. Space Chase
  5. Shot Down In the Night
  6. Rocky Paths
  7. Angels of Death
  8. Living On a Knife Edge
  9. Nuclear Drive
  10. Choose Your Masques
  11. Silver Machine Single Version]
  12. Waiting For Tomorrow
  13. Dragons & Fables
  14. The Sea King
  15. Needle Gun

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Hawkwind   Primary Artist
Ginger Baker   Percussion,Drums
Tim Blake   Synthesizer,Keyboards
Dave Brock   Guitar,Bass Guitar,Keyboards,Vocals
Harvey Bainbridge   Synthesizer,Bass Guitar,Keyboards,Vocals
Dave Charles   Percussion
Alan Davey   Bass Guitar,Vocals
Martin Griffin   Drums
Simon King   Drums
Huw Lloyd-Langton   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
John Clark   Drums
Danny Thompson   Drums

Technical Credits

Hawkwind   Producer
Pat Moran   Producer,Engineer
Dave Brock   Composer,Director
Robert Calvert   Composer
Steve Swindells   Composer
Harvey Bainbridge   Composer,Director
Dave Charles   Producer
Paul Cobbold   Engineer
Ashley Howe   Producer,Engineer
Technical   Producer
Huw Lloyd-Langton   Composer
Marion Lloyd-Langton   Composer
Dave Thompson   Liner Notes
Pat Moran   Producer,Engineer
H. Bainbridge   Composer

Customer Reviews