Sowing The Seeds: The Tenth Anniversary

Sowing The Seeds: The Tenth Anniversary


$17.26 $19.99 Save 14% Current price is $17.26, Original price is $19.99. You Save 14%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, April 9


Appleseed has built its reputation as a label unafraid of politics, a place where an artist can speak his or her mind without fear of censorship. More than that, however, the label has now made it to the ten-year mark, proving that doing the right thing doesn't have to be financially foolish. Sowing the Seeds: The Tenth Anniversary, then, is a celebration, highlighted by the fruits of Appleseed's labors, brightened by a handful of new tracks and spread out over two discs. The names, from Pete Seeger to Ani DiFranco, reveal a label deeply connected to tradition like Smithsonian Folkways, but also one with an ear to the ground for new voices. Some folk and rock fans will no doubt be interested in the new recording of the "Ghost of Tom Joad" with a gritty Bruce Springsteen vocal and narration by Seeger. There are also exclusive tracks by Donovan ("Universal Soldier") and DiFranco ("Waste Deep in the Big Muddy"). The bulk of the collection, however, includes previously recorded tracks by Eric Andersen, Judy Collins, Kim & Reggie Harris, David Bromberg, Bruce Cockburn, Lizzie West, and the White Buffalo, Tom Paxton, and many others. Sowing the Seeds: The Tenth Anniversary makes a solid argument that folk and folk-derived music is alive and well in the 21st century, and more than that, the music makes for a fine celebration.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/11/2007
Label: Appleseed Records
UPC: 0611587110220
catalogNumber: 1102
Rank: 77366

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Pete Seeger   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals,Spoken Word
Bruce Springsteen   Acoustic Guitar,Harmonica,Vocals
Ani DiFranco   Vocals
Mark Dann   Acoustic Guitar
David Hamburger   Dobro
Ken Lovelett   Percussion
Michael Visceglia   Bass
Tao Rodriguez-Seeger   Acoustic Guitar,Maracas,Vocals
Tim Carbone   Fiddle

Technical Credits

Dick Gaughan   Composer
Eric Andersen   Composer
Judy Collins   Author
Phil Ochs   Composer
Tom Paxton   Composer
Buffy Sainte-Marie   Composer
Peggy Seeger   Composer
Pete Seeger   Composer,Author,Adaptation
John Stewart   Composer
David Bromberg   Composer
Donovan   Author
Bob Dylan   Composer
Lou Reed   Composer
Bruce Springsteen   Composer,Producer,Author
Tom Pacheco   Composer
Peter Yarrow   Author
Lorre Wyatt   Composer
Ani DiFranco   Instrumentation
Pat Humphries   Composer
Robert Aaron   Composer
Martin Bell   Author
Mark Dann   Engineer
Pete Kennedy   Composer
Roger McGuinn   Author
Robbie O'Connell   Composer
Toby Scott   Engineer
David Seitz   Producer,Engineer
Studs Terkel   Author
Maura Kennedy   Composer
Martin Luther King   Author
Wyclef Jean   Composer
Joe Hickerson   Composer
Alan Edwards   Liner Notes
Mike Napolitano   Engineer
Archbishop Desmond Tutu   Author
Tim Eriksen   Composer
Jim Musselman   Composer,Producer,Liner Notes,Executive Producer
Traditional   Composer
Sharon Katz   Composer
Lizzie West   Composer
Julián Orbón   Adaptation
John hume   Author
James Lebrecht   Engineer
Justine Musselman   Liner Notes
Andy Melvin   Engineer

Customer Reviews