Southern Accents

Southern Accents

by Tom Petty & the HeartbreakersTom Petty & the Heartbreakers


View All Available Formats & Editions


Produced by Dave Stewart, Southern Accents is an ambitious album, attempting to incorporate touches of psychedelia, soul, and country into a loose concept about the modern South. Occasionally, the songs work; "Rebels" and "Spike" are fine rockers, and "Don't Come Around Here No More" and "Make It Better (Forget About Me)" expand the Heartbreakers' sound nicely.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/25/1990
Label: Mca
UPC: 0076732548622
catalogNumber: 5486

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers   Primary Artist
Tom Petty   Acoustic Guitar,Piano,Keyboards,Tambourine,Vocals,12-string Guitar,12-string Bass Guitar
Marilyn Martin   Vocals,Background Vocals
Jack Nitzsche   Strings
Mike Campbell   Bass,Dobro,Guitar,Harmonica,Piano,Keyboards,Vocals,Slide Guitar
Jim Keltner   Percussion
Bobbye Hall   Percussion,Tambourine
Benmont Tench   Piano,Keyboards,Electric Piano,Vocals,Vibes
William Bergman   Horn,Tenor Saxophone,Background Vocals
Ron Blair   Bass
Dick Braun   Trumpet,Horn,Background Vocals
Sharon Celani   Vocals,Background Vocals
Jim Coile   Horn,Tenor Saxophone,Background Vocals
Malcolm Duncan   Saxophone
Howie Epstein   Bass,Vocals,Background Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Dean Garcia   Bass
Jerry Hey   Horn
Garth Hudson   Keyboards
Clydene Jackson   Vocals,Background Vocals
Phil Jones   Percussion,Tambourine
Martin Jourard   Saxophone
Stan Lynch   Percussion,Drums,Keyboards,Vocals
Richard Manuel   Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Kurt McGettrick   Horn,Background Vocals
Dave Plews   Trumpet
Daniel Rothmuller   Clarinet,Cello
Julia Tillman Waters   Vocals,Background Vocals
Greg Smith   Horn,Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone,Background Vocals
Stephanie Spruill   Vocals,Background Vocals
Dave Stewart   Bass,Guitar,Keyboards,Sitar,Vocals
Maxine Willard Waters   Vocals,Background Vocals
Molly Duncan   Saxophone
Julia Waters   Background Vocals
John Berry   Trumpet,Horn
Richard Mantel   Vocal Harmony
Sean Lynch   Drums
Marty Jourard   Saxophone

Technical Credits

Tom Petty   Composer,Producer
Robbie Robertson   Producer
Jack Nitzsche   String Arrangements
Mike Campbell   Producer
William Bergman   Sound Effects
David Bianco   Engineer
Dick Braun   Sound Effects
Jim Coile   Sound Effects
Joel Fein   Engineer
Jerry Hey   Horn Conductor
Jimmy Iovine   Producer
Kurt McGettrick   Sound Effects
Don Smith   Engineer,Remixing
Dave Stewart   Composer,Producer
Alan Weidel   Engineer
Shelly Yakus   Engineer,Remixing
Tommy Steele   Art Direction,Cover Design
John Berry   Sound Effects
Winslow Homer   Artwork,Cover Painting
Steele Works Design   Cover Design

Customer Reviews