Soundtrack for a Revolution

Soundtrack for a Revolution


$14.73 $15.99 Save 8% Current price is $14.73, Original price is $15.99. You Save 8%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 24


Soundtrack for a Revolution, a 2009 documentary about the African-American civil rights movement that naturally incorporates new looks at the era's conscious/protest music, had no soundtrack. Corey Smyth and Talib Kweli's Blacksmith label filled the void three years later with this, a ten-track release that contains some of the performances heard throughout the film. Among the early highlights are Wyclef Jean's version of Phil Ochs' "Here's to the State of Mississippi" and Mary Mary's "We Shall Not Be Moved," the latter likely a major delight for those who love the singers' voices but not the slick contemporary gospel/R&B of their studio albums. On an urgent "This May Be the Last Time," Anthony Hamilton and the Blind Boys of Alabama are backed by Soulive, whose Neal Evans adds weight on organ without detracting from the voices. Angie Stone's "Wade in the Water" carries an assured swing like that of the Staple Singers' studio version, but it's stripped down in comparison, supported only by drums, keyboards, and bass (no background vocalists). The Roots' take on "Ain't Gonna Let Nobody Turn Me Around" is especially potent, with Black Thought delivering a stellar (sung!) lead vocal, joined by handclaps and background vocals from TV on the Radio's Tunde Adebimpe and Kyp Malone. This makes for a nice companion to the Light in the Attic label's Listen, Whitey! The Sounds of Black Power 1967-1974, also released in February 2012, as well as John Legend and the Roots' Wake Up!, a 2010 set of covers.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/14/2012
Label: Ent. One Music
UPC: 0099923218029
catalogNumber: 2180
Rank: 82501


  1. We Shall Not Be Moved
  2. Here's to the State of Mississippi
  3. Will the Circle Be Unbroken?
  4. Ain't Gonna Let Nobody Turn Me Around
  5. Woke Up This Morning
  6. Eyes on the Prize
  7. Wade in the Water
  8. This May Be the Last Time
  9. Oh Freedom
  10. We Shall Overcome

Album Credits

Performance Credits

James Genus   Upright Bass
James Poyser   Organ
Tariq Trotter   Vocals
Randall Bowland   Guitar
Warryn Campbell   Bass
Babatunde Adebimpe   Background Vocals
Nisan Stewart   Drums
Neal Evans   Organ,Keyboards
Alan Evans   Drums
Eric Krasno   Guitar
Steven Wolf   Drums
Kyp Malone   Background Vocals
Erica Campbell   Vocals
Tina Campbell   Vocals
"Tuba Gooding Jr." Bryson   Sousaphone
Charles Freeman   Bass
Charlie Bereal   Guitar
Ahmir Thompson   Drums
Steven Tillman   Keyboards
Thomasina Atkins   Background Vocals
Edward Dixon   Drums
Shanta Atkins   Background Vocals
Alana Atkins   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Guy Carawan   Composer
Phil Ochs   Composer
Pete Seeger   Composer
Frank Hamilton   Composer
Vivian Green   Vocal Producer
Zilphia Horton   Composer
James Poyser   Producer
Jon Smeltz   Engineer
Tom Soares   Engineer
Wyclef Jean   Producer
Jan Fairchild   Engineer
Warryn Campbell   Producer
Soulive   Producer
Traditional   Composer
Ryan West   Engineer
Eric Krasno   Arranger,Producer
Adam Deitch   Arranger
Corey Smyth   Executive Producer
John Legend   Producer
Roger "Mista Raja" Greene   Producer
Ahmir Thompson   Producer
Joel Hamilton   Engineer
Treena Ferebee   Vocal Producer
Nigel Hall   Arranger

Customer Reviews