Sound System

Sound System

by The ClashThe Clash

CD(Box Set)

$241.73 $249.99 Save 3% Current price is $241.73, Original price is $249.99. You Save 3%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The Clash Sound System is the band’s re-mastered recorded works collected together for the first time. Contained within classic boombox packaging designed by Paul Simonon, this boxset contains the band’s 5 seminal studio albums in their original 8-disc format, newly re-mastered by The Clash, a further 3 discs featuring demos, non-album singles, rarities and B-sides, a DVD with previously unseen footage by both Don Letts and Julien Temple, original promo videos and live footage, an owner’s manual booklet, reprints of the band’s original ‘Armagideon Times’ fanzine as well as a brand new edition curated and designed by Paul Simonon and merchandise including dog tags, badges, stickers and an exclusive Clash poster.

Conceived and compiled by The Clash, ‘Sound System’ is a significant and unique collection of the complete recorded works by the 20th century’s most influential British band. Greatly enhanced by the careful re-mastering rendering the original recordings more vital and crisp, all contained in Paul Simonon’s iconic design, with a selection of bonus material, ‘Sound System’ is the most important and unique boxset to be released.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/10/2013
Label: Sony Legacy
UPC: 0887254600022
catalogNumber: 546000
Rank: 9004


Disc 1

  1. Janie Jones
  2. Remote Control
  3. I'm So Bored With the U.S.A.
  4. White Riot
  5. Hate & War
  6. What's My Name
  7. Deny
  8. London's Burning
  9. Career Opportunities
  10. Cheat
  11. Protex Blue
  12. Police & Thieves
  13. 48 Hours
  14. Garageland

Disc 2

  1. Safe European Home
  2. English Civil War
  3. Tommy Gun
  4. Julie's Been Working For the Drug Squad
  5. Last Gang In Town
  6. Guns On the Roof
  7. Drug-Stabbin' Time
  8. Stay Free
  9. Cheapskates
  10. All the Young Punks (New Boots and Contracts)

Disc 3

  1. London Calling
  2. Brand New Cadillac
  3. Jimmy Jazz
  4. Hateful
  5. Rudie Can't Fail
  6. Spanish Bombs
  7. The Right Profile
  8. Lost In the Supermarket
  9. Clampdown
  10. The Guns of Brixton

Disc 4

  1. Wrong 'Em Boyo
  2. Death or Glory
  3. Koka Kola
  4. The Card Cheat
  5. Lover's Rock
  6. Four Horsemen
  7. I'm Not Down
  8. Revolution Rock
  9. Train In Vain

Disc 5

  1. The Magnificent Seven
  2. Hitsville U.K.
  3. Junco Partner
  4. Ivan Meets G.I. Joe
  5. The Leader
  6. Something About England
  7. Rebel Waltz
  8. Look Here
  9. The Crooked Beat
  10. Somebody Got Murdered
  11. One More Time
  12. One More Dub

Disc 6

  1. Lightning Strikes (Not Once But Twice)
  2. Up In Heaven (Not Only Here)
  3. Corner Soul
  4. Let's Go Crazy
  5. If Music Could Talk
  6. The Sound of Sinners
  7. Police On My Back
  8. Midnight Log
  9. The Equaliser
  10. The Call Up
  11. Washington Bullets
  12. Broadway

Disc 7

  1. Lose This Skin
  2. Charlie Don't Surf
  3. Mensforth Hill
  4. Junkie Slip
  5. Kingston Advice
  6. The Street Parade
  7. Version City
  8. Living In Fame
  9. Silicone On Sapphire
  10. Version Pardner
  11. Career Opportunities
  12. Shepherds Delight

Disc 8

  1. Know Your Rights
  2. Car Jamming
  3. Should I Stay or Should I Go
  4. Rock the Casbah
  5. Red Angel Dragnet
  6. Straight To Hell
  7. Overpowered By Funk
  8. Atom Tan
  9. Sean Flynn
  10. Ghetto Defendant
  11. Inoculated City
  12. Death is a Star

Disc 9

  1. White Riot
  2. 1977
  3. Listen/Interviews
  4. Capitol Radio
  5. London's Burning
  6. Complete Control
  7. City of the Dead
  8. Clash City Rockers
  9. Jail Guitar Doors
  10. White Man in Hammersmith Palais
  11. The Prisoner
  12. 1-2 Crush On You
  13. Time Is Tight (Black Market Clash)
  14. Pressure Drop
  15. I Fought the Law
  16. Groovy Times
  17. Gates of the West
  18. Capital Radio
  19. Armagideon Time
  20. Bank Robber
  21. Rockers Galore on a UK Tour

Disc 10

  1. The Magnificent Dance
  2. Midnight To Stevens
  3. Radio One
  4. Stop the World
  5. The Cool Out
  6. This is Radio Clash
  7. This is Radio Clash
  8. First Night Back In London
  9. Rock the Casbah
  10. Long Time Jerk
  11. The Beautiful People Are Ugly Too
  12. Idle In Kangaroo Court
  13. Ghetto Defendant
  14. Cool Confusion
  15. Sean Flynn
  16. Straight To Hell

Disc 11

  1. I'm So Bored With the U.S.A.
  2. London's Burning
  3. White Riot
  4. 1977
  5. Janie Jones
  6. Career Opportunities
  7. London's Burning
  8. 1977
  9. White Riot
  10. City of the Dead
  11. Jail Guitar Doors
  12. English Civil War
  13. Stay Free
  14. Cheapskates
  15. I Fought the Law

Disc 12

  1. Julien Temple Archive
  2. 1977
  3. White Riot
  4. London's Burning
  5. I'm So Bored with the USA
  6. Hate & War
  7. Career Opportunities
  8. Remote Control
  9. White Riot
  10. Janie Jones
  11. The City of the Dead
  12. Clash City Rockers
  13. White Man in Hammersmith Palais
  14. 1977
  15. London Calling
  16. This Is Radio Clash
  17. The Magnificent Seven
  18. Guns of Brixton
  19. Safe European Home
  20. Tommy Gun
  21. London Calling
  22. Bankrobber
  23. Clampdown
  24. Train in Vain
  25. The Call Up
  26. Rock the Casbah
  27. Radio Clash
  28. Should I Stay or Should I Go [Live
  29. Career Opportunities

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Clash   Primary Artist
Allen Ginsberg   Background Vocals
Joe Strummer   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Ellen Foley   Background Vocals
Mick Gallagher   Guest Appearance
Topper Headon   Percussion,Drums,Vocals,Group Member
Mick Jones   Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Paul Simonon   Bass,Bass Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Tory Crimes   Drums,Group Member
Tony Parsons   Interviewee
Timon Dogg   Guest Appearance

Technical Credits

Mikey Dread   Composer,Liner Notes,Artwork
Clash   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Construction,Sleeve Design
Joe Strummer   Arranger,Composer,Liner Notes,Artwork,Song List Development
Mose Allison   Composer
Sonny Curtis   Composer
Jackie Edwards   Composer
Steve Bell   Sound Effects
Joe Blaney   Engineer
John Cooper Clarke   Liner Notes
Tymon Dogg   Composer
Micky Foote   Producer
Eddy Grant   Composer
Topper Headon   Liner Notes
Booker T. Jones   Composer
Mick Jones   Arranger,Composer,Liner Notes
Junior Murvin   Composer
Don Letts   Liner Notes,Executive Producer
Jackie Mittoo   Composer
Sandy Pearlman   Producer
Lee "Scratch" Perry   Composer
Bill Price   Engineer,Liner Notes
Paul Simonon   Composer,Liner Notes,Artwork
Corky Stasiak   Engineer
Guy Stevens   Producer
Danny Ray   Composer
Wilbert Williams   Composer
Michael Campbell   Composer
Gregg Caruso   Engineer
Kevin Dalimore   Engineer
Chris Mingo   Engineer
Paul Slattery   Cover Photo
Kate Simon   Cover Photo
Pennie Smith   Liner Notes
Chris Musto   Digital Artwork,Layout
Kosmo Vinyl   Liner Notes
Robert Ellen   Composer
Keith Levine   Composer
Rocco Macauley   Back Cover Photo
Julien Temple   Engineer,Liner Notes
Eddie   Artwork
Caroline Coon   Inside Photo
Jules   Artwork,Sleeve Design
Maxie Mckenzie   Engineer
Vince Taylor   Composer
Denis Ferranti   Engineer
Frederick Hibbert   Composer
Clive Alphonso   Composer
Clement Dodd   Composer
Chris Salewicz   Liner Notes
Tim Young   Liner Notes
Ama Chana   Producer
Jerry Green   Engineer
J.P. Nickolson   Engineer
Simon Humphreys   Engineer
Robert Gordon McHarg   Art Editor
Robin Banks   Liner Notes
Johnny Green   Liner Notes
Alex Michon   Liner Notes
Ray Jordan   Liner Notes
Baker   Liner Notes
McHarg   Artwork

Customer Reviews