Soul Manifesto: 1964-1970

Soul Manifesto: 1964-1970

by Otis ReddingOtis Redding


$63.73 $79.99 Save 20% Current price is $63.73, Original price is $79.99. You Save 20%.


Soul Manifesto is a fancy but accurate title for what is essentially another installment in Rhino's Original Album Series, where all the individual albums are presented as mini-LPs in paper sleeves, slid into a small box, and marketed at a low price. In this case, this rounds up the 12 albums that form the core of the Otis Redding discography: the five studio albums he released between 1964 and 1967 (Pain in My Heart, The Great Otis Redding Sings Soul Ballads, Otis Blue: Otis Redding Sings Soul, The Soul Album, Complete & Unbelievable: The Otis Redding Dictionary of Soul, the Carla Thomas duet album King & Queen), the live albums Live in Europe and In Person at the Whisky a Go Go, and the four posthumous studio LPs released between 1968 and 1970 (The Dock of the Bay, The Immortal Otis Redding, Love Man, Tell the Truth). While other rarities were dug up years later -- two noteworthy sets are 1992's Remember Me and the following year's box set Otis! The Definitive Otis Redding -- this has all the important music Otis made, all delivered in a handy and affordable little box. If you didn't own this seminal music already, this is a great way to get it.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/30/2015
Label: Atlantic
UPC: 0081227951979
catalogNumber: 551722
Rank: 93043


Disc 1

  1. Pain In My Heart
  2. The Dog
  3. Stand By Me
  4. Hey Hey Baby
  5. You Send Me
  6. I Need Your Lovin'
  7. These Arms Of Mine
  8. Louie Louie
  9. Something Is Worrying Me
  10. Security
  11. That's What My Heart Needs
  12. Lucille

Disc 2

  1. That's How Strong My Love Is
  2. Chained And Bound
  3. Woman, Lover, a Friend
  4. Your One And Only Man
  5. Nothing Can Change This Love
  6. It's Too Late
  7. For Your Precious Love
  8. I Want To Thank You
  9. Come To Me
  10. Home In Your Heart
  11. Keep Your Arms Around Me
  12. Mr. Pitiful

Disc 3

  1. Ole Man Trouble
  2. Respect
  3. Change Gonna Come
  4. Down In The Valley
  5. I've Been Loving You Too Long (To Stop Now)
  6. Shake
  7. My Girl
  8. Wonderful World
  9. Rock Me Baby
  10. Satisfaction (I Can't Get No)
  11. You Don't Miss Your Water

Disc 4

  1. Just One More Day
  2. It's Growing
  3. Cigarettes and Coffee
  4. Chain Gang
  5. Nobody Knows You (When You're Down And Out)
  6. Good To Me
  7. Scratch My Back
  8. Treat Her Right
  9. Everybody Makes A Mistake
  10. Any Ole Way
  11. 634-5789

Disc 5

  1. Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa (Sad Song)
  2. I'm Sick Y'All
  3. Tennessee Waltz
  4. Sweet Lorene
  5. Try A Little Tenderness
  6. Day Tripper
  7. My Lover's Prayer
  8. She Put The Hurt On Me
  9. Ton Of Joy
  10. You're Still My Baby
  11. Hawg For You
  12. Love Have Mercy

Disc 6

  1. Knock On Wood
  2. Let Me Be Good to You
  3. Tramp
  4. Tell It Like It Is
  5. When Something Is Wrong With My Baby
  6. Lovey Dovey
  7. New Year's Resolution
  8. It Takes Two
  9. Are You Lonely For Me Baby
  10. Bring It on Home to Me
  11. Ooh, Carla, Ooh Otis

Disc 7

  1. Respect
  2. Can't Turn You Loose
  3. I've Been Loving You Too Long (To Stop Now)
  4. My Girl
  5. Shake
  6. Satisfaction
  7. Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa (Sad Song)
  8. These Arms Of Mine
  9. Day Tripper
  10. Try A Little Tenderness

Disc 8

  1. (Sittin' On) The Dock Of The Bay
  2. I Love You More Than Words Can Say
  3. Let Me Come On Home
  4. Open The Door
  5. Don't Mess With Cupid
  6. The Glory Of Love
  7. I'm Coming Home
  8. Tramp
  9. The Huckle-Buck
  10. Nobody Knows You (When You're Down And Out)
  11. Ole Man Trouble

Disc 9

  1. I've Got Dreams To Remember
  2. You've Made a Man Out of Me
  3. Nobody's Fault But Mine
  4. Hard To Handle
  5. Thousand Miles Away
  6. The Happy Song (Dum-dum-de-de-de-dum-dum)
  7. Think About It
  8. A Waste Of Time
  9. Champagne And Wine
  10. A Fool For You
  11. Amen

Disc 10

  1. I Can't Turn You Loose
  2. Pain In My Heart
  3. Just One More Day
  4. Mr. Pitiful
  5. (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction
  6. I'm Depending On You
  7. Any Ole Way
  8. These Arms Of Mine
  9. Papa's Got a Brand New Bag
  10. Respect

Disc 11

  1. I'm A Changed Man
  2. (Your Love Has Lifted Me) Higher And Higher
  3. That's A Good Idea
  4. I'll Let Nothing Seperate Us
  5. Direct Me
  6. Love Man
  7. Groovin' Time
  8. Your Feeling Is Mine
  9. Got To Get Myself Together
  10. Free Me
  11. A Lover's Question
  12. Look At That Girl

Disc 12

  1. Demonstration
  2. Tell The Truth
  3. Out Of Sight
  4. Give Away None Of My Love
  5. Wholesale Love
  6. I Got the Will
  7. Johnny's Heartbreak
  8. Snatch a Little Piece
  9. Slippin' and Slidin'
  10. The Match Game
  11. A Little Time
  12. Swingin' on a String

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Otis Redding   Primary Artist
Steve Cropper   Guitar
Joe Arnold   Tenor Saxophone
Donald "Duck" Dunn   Bass
Isaac Hayes   Organ,Piano
Wayne Jackson   Trumpet
Andrew Jackson   Tenor Saxophone
Booker T. Jones   Organ,Piano
Al Jackson   Drums

Technical Credits

Lowell Fulson   Composer
Jimmy McCracklin   Composer
Billy Hill   Composer
Carl Smith   Composer
Arthur Alexander   Composer
Herb Alpert   Composer
William Bell   Composer
Brook Benton   Composer
James Brown   Composer
Solomon Burke   Composer
Jerry Butler   Composer
Ray Charles   Composer
Sam Cooke   Composer
Steve Cropper   Composer,Producer,Liner Notes
Eddie Floyd   Composer
Mick Jagger   Composer
John Lennon   Composer
Little Richard   Composer
Paul McCartney   Composer
Otis Redding   Arranger,Composer
Rod Stewart   Composer
Carla Thomas   Composer
Chuck Willis   Composer
Peter Johnson   Liner Notes
Jimmy Campbell   Composer
Don Gardner   Composer
Ronnie Stoots   Cover Design
Pee Wee King   Composer
Roy Head   Composer
Redd Stewart   Composer
Otis Blackwell   Composer
Lou Adler   Composer
Bert Berns   Composer
Shapiro, Bernstein & Company   Composer
Ashley Berry   Composer
Richard Brooks   Composer
Ron Capone   Engineer
Eddie Curtis   Composer
Tom Dowd   Engineer
Isaac Hayes   Composer
Wally Heider   Engineer
Gary Jackson   Composer
Roy Johnson   Composer
Booker T. Jones   Composer
B.B. King   Composer
Jon Landau   Liner Notes
Gene Lawson   Composer
James Moore   Composer
David Porter   Composer
Keith Richards   Composer
Bob Rolontz   Liner Notes
Winfield Scott   Composer
William "Mickey" Stevenson   Composer
Phil Walden   Composer
Jay Walker   Composer
William Robinson   Composer
Jim Stewart   Producer,Engineer
Eddie Bocage   Composer
Peter Levy   Cover Photo
Deanie Parker   Composer,Liner Notes
Paul Ackerman   Liner Notes
Bob Altshuler   Liner Notes
Lowman Pauling   Composer
Julius Green   Composer
Sylvia Moy   Composer
Richard Penniman   Composer
Stanislaw Zagorski   Cover Design
Haig Adishian   Cover Design
Jean-Pierre Leloir   Cover Photo,Inside Photo
Ronald White   Composer
Loring Eutemey   Cover Design
Mary Frierson   Composer
Zelma Redding   Composer
Lee Diamond   Composer
Harry Woods   Composer
Joe Josea   Composer
Reginald Connelly   Composer
Naomi Neville   Composer
Roy Alfred   Composer
Randle Catron   Composer
Babe Chivian   Composer
George David   Composer
Allan Walden   Composer
Roosevelt Jamison   Composer
Bernard Yeszin   Cover Design
Traditional   Composer
Eddie Morris   Composer
Alvertis Isbell   Composer
James Smith   Composer
Paul C. Acree   Cover Photo
Ahmet Nugetre   Composer
Pete Sahula   Cover Photo
Elmo Glick   Composer
Jimmy Williams   Composer
Andy Gibson   Composer
Jim Marshall   Cover Photo
McCracklin   Composer
McClinton   Composer
Jimmie Cox   Composer
Joseph Martin   Composer
Carl Wells   Composer
McEvoy Robinson   Composer
Laurence Fink   Cover Photo
Allen Jones   Composer
Don Covay   Composer
Sid Wyche   Composer
Howard H. Baker   Liner Notes
Louiella Cullipher   Composer
Albert Collins   Composer

Customer Reviews