Soul Drums [Bonus Tracks]

Soul Drums [Bonus Tracks]

by Bernard "Pretty" Purdie

CD(Special Edition)

$14.22 $14.99 Save 5% Current price is $14.22, Original price is $14.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, December 13


Not so much an album as it is a master class in the art of funk percussion, Soul Drums is the quintessential Bernard "Pretty" Purdie LP, an unstoppable rhythm machine made all the more memorable by its fiercely idiosyncratic production. Paired with pianist/arranger Richard Tee, guitarists Eric Gale and Billy Butler, bassist Bob Bushnell, and tenorist Seldon Powell, Purdie creates a suite of deep funk grooves notable for the sheer insistence of their energy as well as the remarkable imagination and skill of their beats, all topped off with echo-chamber-like production that underscores the music's visceral punch. It is virtually impossible to listen to Soul Drums without nodding your head and tapping your foot -- and physical response, not thoughts or words, are its most sincere praise.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/30/2018
Label: Green Streets Ent
UPC: 0822720772322
catalogNumber: 723
Rank: 27048

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Bernard "Pretty" Purdie   Primary Artist,Drums,Vocals
Seldon Powell   Flute,Tenor Saxophone
Bob Bushnell   Bass
Eric Gale   Guitar
Buddy Lucas   Flute,Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Shouts
Richard Tee   Organ,Piano,Conductor
Billy Butler   Guitar

Technical Credits

Irving Berlin   Composer
Steve Cropper   Composer
Irving Mills   Composer
Chuck Rainey   Composer
Mort Shuman   Composer
Eddie Brigati   Composer
Felix Cavaliere   Composer
Cornell Dupree   Composer
Duke Ellington   Composer
Donald "Duck" Dunn   Composer
Robert Flack   Author
Roy Halee   Engineer
Jerome Jackson   Composer
Booker T. Jones   Composer
Don Meehan   Engineer
Jalaluddin Mansur Nuriddin   Author
Bernard "Pretty" Purdie   Composer
Jerry Ragovoy   Composer
Pete Rock & C.L. Smooth   Author
Richard Rome   Composer
Richard Tee   Arranger,Composer
Juan Tizol   Composer
James Tyrell   Composer
Al Jackson   Composer
Vic Anesini   Remixing
Ken Williams   Producer
Andrew Graham   Liner Notes
Noah Uman   Reissue Producer
Devin Horwitz   Reissue Producer
David Kapralik   Producer
James Wisner   Composer
Billy Jackson   Composer,Producer
Ken Williams   Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews