Soul Deep

Soul Deep

by Laura TurnerLaura Turner


$15.19 $15.99 Save 5% Current price is $15.19, Original price is $15.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 24


Curb Records expands beyond its well-known country roster with Soul Deep, the beautifully produced debut from Laura Turner, a singer whose classically trained voice is all at once operatic, dramatic, and ethereal -- truly defying typical categorization. Think Sarah Brightman's early-2000s remix hits and that gets you on the trail. The idea throughout seems to be pairing the drama of her pipes with lush, lyrical songs and productions that range from edgy trip-hop to ambient and even exotic. The most compelling of these is her own co-composition "Will of the Heart," a Celine Dion-like inspirational gem that captures her many octave range better than the other tunes, with words that don't get lost in the dramatic atmospheres and grooves. The symphonic title cut is a dramatic take on the spiritual aspects of lovemaking, featuring wordless vocals very much in the spirit of Brightman's "Phantom of the Opera" work, combined with shuffle grooves. "Illusion of a Kiss" blends Middle Eastern exotica, thick percussion, and deep cinematic images. The rest of the material ranges from a duet with Ray Vega on his Spanish-language hit "Angel de Madrugada," a dreamy take on the originally hard-rocking Creed hit "My Sacrifice," and others by Diane Warren and Desmond Child. Her vocal intensity may be too much for mainstream adult contemporary and pop, which favors lesser voices and more conventional song forms. But her talent for tugging the heart is undeniable.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/05/2003
Label: Imports
UPC: 0715187876729
catalogNumber: 7876729
Rank: 186794


  1. Soul Deep
  2. Where You Are
  3. Illusion of a Kiss
  4. Complete
  5. The Will of the Heart (Prelude)
  6. The Will of the Heart
  7. The Touch
  8. Devoted
  9. You're Where I Belong
  10. My Sacrifice
  11. Angel de Madrugada (Prelude)
  12. Angel de Madrugada
  13. Baby Sleep
  14. Baby Sleep (Postlude)
  15. Soul Deep

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Laura Turner   Primary Artist,Bass,Keyboards,Vocals
Jack Jezzro   Bass
Eric Darken   Percussion
Kurt Howell   Bass,Guitar,Keyboards,Vocals
David Angell   Violin
Dave Cleveland   Acoustic Guitar
David Davidson   Violin
Everett Drake   Background Vocals
Kim Fleming   Background Vocals
Carl Gorodetzky   Violin,Concert Master
Jim Grosjean   Violin,Viola
Vicki Hampton   Background Vocals
Yvonne Hodges   Background Vocals
David Lyndon Huff   Bass,Guitar,Percussion,Drums,Keyboards,Vocals
Anthony LaMarchina   Cello
Lee Larrison   Violin
Derrick Lee   Background Vocals
Bob Mason   Cello
Pamela Sixfin   Violin
Jimmie Lee Sloas   Bass
Liz Stewart   Bass
Alan Umstead   Violin
Catherine Umstead   Violin
Mary Kathryn Van Osdale   Violin
Carl Rabinowitz   Cello
Jonathan Williams   Strings,French Horn,Oboe
Lisa Cochran   Background Vocals
Jeff Lippencott   Conductor
Monisa Angell   Viola
Karen Winkelmann   Violin
Julie Tanner   Cello
Bruce Christensen   Viola
Cate Myer   Violin
Irish Film Orchestra   Strings
Sherrie Kibble   Background Vocals
Gerald Greer   Violin
Robert Bailey   Vocals,Background Vocals,Guest Appearance
Janet Askey   Violin
Dede Jacobs   Viola
Jennifer Kummer   Cello,French Horn
Bill Woodworth   Oboe
Jenkins Edward   Background Vocals
Matt Pierson   Bass

Technical Credits

Desmond Child   Composer
Kurt Howell   Arranger,Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
Jeff Balding   Engineer
Stephanie Bentley   Composer
Steve Dorff   Composer
Anne Graham   Composer
David Hall   Engineer
David Lyndon Huff   Arranger,Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
Brent King   Engineer
Sonny LeMaire   Composer
Brian Masterson   Engineer
George Teren   Composer
Diane Warren   Composer
Jeff Lippencott   Arranger,String Arrangements
Glenn Spinner   Engineer
Ray Vega   Composer
Cesar Lemos   Composer
Holly Lamar   Composer
Chris Lindsey   Composer
Pebe Sebert   Composer
Karla Aponte   Composer
Scott Stapp   Composer
Mark Tremonti   Composer
Jorgin Dahl   Composer
Tammy Hyler   Composer
Laura Turner   Composer
Jared Lawton   Prop Stylist
Emma Holland   Composer
James Peterik   Composer

Customer Reviews