Soul Axess

Soul Axess

by The Jazz CrusadersThe Jazz Crusaders


$15.19 $15.99 Save 5% Current price is $15.19, Original price is $15.99. You Save 5%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Since the breakup of the original Crusaders in the '80s, there have always been two factions battling for the name: the occasional Joe Sample-Wilton Felder projects billed as "the Crusaders", and another group of rotating smooth jazz musicians led by trombonist Wayne Henderson, usually called the Jazz Crusaders. This new fun-filled, very brassy, and stylistically diverse collection features Felder on only three tracks, but, not surprisingly, one of the best is "Down Yonder," a gospel-inflected midtempo funk number that joyfully recalls the old Crusaders' Southern roots. Elsewhere, it's more a gathering of contemporary greats, with Henderson forming tasty horn sections with guest saxmen Everette Harp (on the bouncy cover of Stevie Wonder's "Overjoyed," also featuring a crisp Norman Brown guitar solo) and Ronnie Laws. Vibist Roy Ayers adds a touch of class to the Latin-flavored "Clima Suave (Smooth & Cool)," and Bobby Lyle (piano) and Dwight Sills (guitar) find ample room to shine on their numbers. The only drawback is Henderson's seeming need to join the hip-hop generation by adding several rap vocals, one of which pays obligatory homage to jazz heroes ("All That Jazz n Razz a Ma Tazz"). Along with an overreliance on pop covers, this sort of thinking makes Henderson's effort a far less rewarding experience than Sample and Felder's return to the front porch on the previous year's Rural Renewal. There are always glimmers of unique creativity, however. A cover of "Over the Rainbow" featuring vocalist Phillip Ingram features a cool Take 6-like intro, but then evolves into something much more pedestrian.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/27/2004
Label: Imports
UPC: 0809351001526
catalogNumber: 5100152
Rank: 70220

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jazz Crusaders   Primary Artist
Wayne Henderson   Percussion,Trombone
Roy Ayers   Vibes,scat
Ronnie Laws   Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Bobby Lyle   Organ,Piano,Keyboards
Dwight Sills   Guitar
Jean Carn   Vocals
Marlon McClain   Guitar
Alex Acuña   Latin Percussion
Patryce Banks   Vocals
Alex Brown   scat
Nathan East   Bass
Wilton Felder   Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Everette Harp   Tenor Saxophone
Phillip Ingram   Vocals,Background Vocals
Herman Jackson   Keyboards
Larry Kimpel   Bass
Greg Moore   Guitar
Brian Price   Guitar
Billy Steinway   Keyboards,Keyboard Overdubs
Leroy Taylor   Keyboards
Mayuto Correa   Percussion
Alan Hinds   Dobro,Guitar
Kevin Flournoy   Keyboards,Sitar,Koto
Lil' Rowdy   Rap
Johnny Reason   Bass,Guitar

Technical Credits

Wayne Henderson   Composer,Producer,Liner Notes
Bob Dylan   Composer
John Lennon   Composer
Harold Arlen   Composer
Jean Carn   Composer
Michael Vail Blum   Engineer
Darryl Clifton   Composer
Reginald Dozier   Engineer
Larry Goetz   Engineer
E.Y. "Yip" Harburg   Composer
Steve Robbins   Engineer
Lloyd Tolbert   Composer
Stevie Wonder   Composer
Gerardo Lopez   Engineer
M. Christian   Composer
L. Wolfe Gilbert   Composer
Jay Potter   Vocal Arrangements
Karen Christie   Communications Director
Olukayode Akojenu   Engineer
M. Al Isaac   Graphic Design
Edmund Puckhaber   Executive Producer
Randy Henderson   Composer
Gerald Wiggins   Executive Producer

Customer Reviews