by Paul SimonPaul Simon
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, February 28
9 New & Used Starting at $1.99


I think of myself as a songwriter first. The recording artist and performer in me follow in the writer's footsteps. -- Paul Simon

Paul Simon's Songwriter is a selection of songs, chosen by the composer, as the best of his decades-long creative output. Some of these are well-known hits and others less frequently heard, but all bear the distinct lyrical, melodic and rhythmic signature of Paul Simon, one of the great composers of popular song in the last 50 years. From the Label

Product Details

Release Date: 10/24/2011
Label: Sony Legacy
UPC: 0886979651623
catalogNumber: 796417

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Paul Simon   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Percussion,Glockenspiel,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals,Bells,Hi String,Guitar (Nylon String)
Dixie Hummingbirds   Vocals
Ladysmith Black Mambazo   Vocals
Milton Nascimento   Vocals
Naná Vasconcelos   Conga,Triangle,Berimbau,gourd
Everly Brothers   Vocals
Aretha Franklin   Piano,Vocals
Billy Preston   Organ
Ringo Starr   Guitar
Michael Brecker   Saxophone,EWI,Soloist
King Curtis   Tenor Saxophone
Richard Davis   Acoustic Bass
Bob James   Keyboards,Woodwind
Quincy Jones   Conductor
Hubert Laws   Flute,Soloist
Hugh Masekela   Flugelhorn
Rob Mounsey   Synthesizer
Chuck Rainey   Electric Bass
Grady Tate   Drums
Giovanni Hidalgo   Conga
Alex Foster   Alto Saxophone
Harptones   Background Vocals
Ralph MacDonald   Percussion
Steve Gorn   Bansuri,Bamboo Flute
Danny Rivera   Coro
Kim Wilson   Harmonica
Bob Cranshaw   Bass,Electric Bass
Airto Moreira   Percussion
Clifton Anderson   Trombone
Francisco Aguabella   Conga
Bobby Allende   Bongos,Cymbals
Robby Ameen   Drums
Mingo Araujo   Percussion,Conga,Triangle
Cyro Baptista   Percussion
Dave Bargeron   Euphonium
John Beal   Bass
Barry Beckett   Keyboards,Electric Piano
Randy Brecker   Trumpet
Bobby Bright   Background Vocals
Tony Cedras   Accordion,Keyboards
Don Chacal   Percussion,Bata,gourd
Cissy Houston   Background Vocals
Richard Crooks   Drums
Ray de la Paz   Background Vocals
Cornell Dupree   Guitar
Charles Doherty   Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Jay Elfenbein   Vihuela
Brian Eno   electronics
Steve Gadd   Drums
Alexander Gafa   Guitar
Eric Gale   Guitar
Earl Gardner   Trumpet
Winston Grennan   Drums
Paul Griffin   Piano
Jamey Haddad   Percussion
Harry Lookofsky   Concert Master
Roger Hawkins   Drums
Oscar Hernandez   Synthesizer,Piano
Neville Hinds   Organ
David Hood   Bass
Errol Ince   Trumpet
Anthony Jackson   Contrabass Guitar
Jimmy Johnson   Electric Guitar
Larry Knechtel   Piano
Skip La Plante   Harp
Abraham Laboriel   Bass
Jeanne LeBlanc   Celli
Armand Sabal-Lecco   Bass
Jay Leonhart   Bass
Tony Levin   Bass
Jesse Levy   Cello
Richard Locker   Celli
Ray Lucas   Drums
Mike Mainieri   Marimbas
Alain Mallet   Pump Organ
Rick Marotta   Drums
Lois Martin   Viola
Hugh McCracken   Acoustic Guitar
Marcus Miller   Bass
Edgardo Miranda   cuatro
Clyde Mitchell   Trumpet
Victor Montanez   Drums
Youssou N'Dour   Percussion
Vincent Nguini   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Electric Guitar,Claves
Pino Palladino   Bass
Jeff Porcaro   Drums
Dean Parks   Electric Guitar,Hi String
Greg Phillinganes   Synthesizer
Ray Phiri   Guitar
Marc Quiñones   Conga
Mark Rivera   Alto Saxophone
David Rodriguez   Trumpet,Soloist
Stewart Rose   French Horn
Jimmy Sabater   cowbell
Nestor Sanchez   Background Vocals
Bobby Scott   Piano
John Selolwane   Guitar
Steve Shehan   Bass,Percussion,Saz,Djembe,talking drum,Angklung,Crotale,Brushes,Resonator,Glass Harp
Von Eva Sims   Background Vocals
Pamela Sklar   Flute
David Spinozza   Guitar
Richard Tee   Synthesizer,Keyboards,fender rhodes
Assane Thaim   Percussion
Waters   Vocals
Vusi Khumalo   Drums
Nelson Gonzalez   Tres,Plenaro
Diane Lesser   English Horn
Makhaya Mahlangu   Percussion
Renelie Stafford   Background Vocals
Sweethearts of Soul   Background Vocals
Sara Cutler   Flute
Babacar Faye   Percussion
Leonard Pickett   Tenor Saxophone
Frankie Negron   Falsetto
Wallace Richardson   Guitar
Deidre Tuck   Background Vocals
Elizabeth Mann   Flute
Clifford Carter   Celeste
Ray Vega   Trumpet,Soloist
Charles Pillow   Clarinet
Robin Dimaggio   Drums
Chris Eminizer   Tenor Saxophone
Bakithi Kumalo   Bass
Chikapa "Ray" Phiri   Guitar
Oriente Lopez   Flute
Peter Gordon   French Horn
Marcia Butler   Oboe
Sean Pulley   Background Vocals
Teana Rodriguez   Background Vocals
Dionte Sutton   Background Vocals
Trent Sutton   Background Vocals
Isaac Mitshali   Drums
Joe Osborn   Bass
Wallace Wilson   Rhythm Guitar
Sidinho Moreira   Percussion
Yo Yo De La Nelson   Chakeire
Yacouba Sissoko   Kora
Desiree Elsevier   Viola
Huks Brown   Guitar
David Fink   Bass
Rafael Rabello   Classical Guitar
Vincent Lionti   Viola
Mick Rossi   Piano
Mark Stewart   Dobro,Cello,Electric Guitar,Sitar
Demola Adepoju   Pedal Steel Guitar
Adrian Simon   Vocals
Juliet Hafner   Viola
Grupo Cultural Olodum   Drums
Sidinho   Bongos,Conga,Tambourine
Peter Carr   Guitar
Denzil Lang   Percussion
Rob Sabino   Piano
Anthony Carillo   Bongos
Jim Oblon   Drums
Wells Christie   Synclavier
Myrna Gomila   Background Vocals
Mary Abt   Clarinet
Bathiki Kumalo   Bass
Forere Mothoeloa   Accordion
Jackie Jackson   Bass

Technical Credits

Milton Nascimento   Composer
Paul Simon   Composer,Producer,Whistle
Gil Goldstein   Arranger
Bob James   Wind Arrangements
Quincy Jones   String Arrangements
Harptones   Vocal Arrangements
Georges Delerue   Orchestration
Jim Boyer   Engineer
Dave Grusin   Horn Arrangements
Tom Dowd   Producer
Roy Halee   Producer,Engineer,Musical Supervision
Arif Mardin   Producer
Jerry Masters   Engineer
Mazzola   rhythm arrangement
Del Newman   String Arrangements
Vincent Nguini   Guitar Arrangements
Roger Quested   Engineer
Phil Ramone   Producer,Engineer
Paul Samwell-Smith   Producer
Joseph Shabalala   Composer
Russ Titelman   Producer
Allen Toussaint   Horn Arrangements
Jerry Wexler   Producer
Andy Smith   Engineer
Jay Vicari   Engineer
Derek Walcott   Composer
Mary Ellen Matthews   Cover Photo
Teana Rodriguez   Duet
Chuck Close   Liner Notes
Muscle Shoals Sound Rhythm Section   Producer
Rich Travali   Engineer
Myrna Gomila   Duet
Tom Moon   Liner Notes
Forere Mothoeloa   Composer
Stacey Forster   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews