Songs of No Consequence

Songs of No Consequence

by Graham ParkerGraham Parker


$11.42 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.42, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, June 29


Still the most contentious angry middle-aged man in rock, Graham Parker gets back to his sneer-and-a-beer roots on this rambunctious outing, which is given an extra dose of fuel injection by the Figgs -- longtime Parker tour mates who hunkered down in the studio to help him kick out the jams. That band's musicians dovetail perfectly, in terms of style, with Parker's strengths, namely soul-inflected garage-rock -- poured most potently on the organ-drenched "Did Everybody Just Get Old?" -- and straightforward guitar pop. While Parker's gruff demeanor might make that last three-letter word seem somewhat inappropriate, he slips deftly into melodic mode on tunes like the rock-lifestyle paean "Bad Chardonnay" and the Kinks-ish "Chloroform." He slips away from the band setting for some of the disc's more concentrated doses of lyrical venom -- from the not-so-beautiful loser's lament "Vanity Press" to the Dylan-esque surrealist daydream "Dislocated Life." He's at his best, though, when his Figg-y friends are goosing him along with barrelhouse piano ("Local Boys") or improbably lovely guitar solos ("She Swallows It"). Don't believe the self-deprecating hype -- there's plenty of consequence to be heard here.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/07/2005
Label: Bloodshot Records
UPC: 0744302012322
catalogNumber: 20123
Rank: 186023


  1. Vanity Press
  2. Bad Chardonnay
  3. She Swallows It
  4. Chloroform
  5. Evil
  6. Dislocated Life
  7. Suck 'N' Blow
  8. There's Nothing on the Radio
  9. Ambivalent
  10. Go Little Jimmy
  11. Local Boys
  12. Did Everybody Just Get Old?

Album Credits

Customer Reviews