Songs of New York

Songs of New York

by Bobby Short


6 New & Used Starting at $1.99


Pianist/vocalist Bobby Short pays homage to his home base on Songs of New York. Backed skillfully by guitarist Bucky Pizzarelli, drummer Jackie Williams, bassist Frank Tate, cornetist Warren Vache, and reedman Chuck Wilson, this is truly a group project. Recorded live at the Cafe Carlyle, Short and friends run through a passionate and urbane mix of standards, including "Penthouse Serenade," "Autumn in New York," and "Way Out West on West End Avenue." Short's bittersweet crooning has always been one of the biggest proponents of the beauty of Gotham, and this disc makes it official.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/24/1995
Label: Imports
UPC: 0089408334627
catalogNumber: 5085044


  1. New York, New York (It's A Helluva Town)
  2. Penthouse Serenade
  3. She's a Latin from Manhattan
  4. Autumn in New York
  5. Manhattan
  6. The East Side of Heaven
  7. When Love Beckoned (In Fifty-Second Street)
  8. Way Out West on West End Avenue
  9. Black Butterfly / Harlem Butterfly
  10. My Personal Property
  11. Broadway
  12. The Sidewalks of New York
  13. Take Me Back To Manhattan
  14. Upper Madison Avenue Blues

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews