Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Songs of Faith and Devotion

Songs of Faith and Devotion

Songs of Faith and Devotion

Songs of Faith and Devotion


$9.09 $12.99 Save 30% Current price is $9.09, Original price is $12.99. You Save 30%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, February 9


In between Violator and Songs of Faith and Devotion, a lot happened: Nirvana rewrote the ideas of what "alternative" was supposed to be, while Nine Inch Nails hit the airwaves as the most clearly Depeche-influenced new hit band around. In the meantime, the band went through some high-profile arguing as David Gahan turned into a long-haired, leather-clad rocker and pushed for a more guitar-oriented sound. Yet the odd thing about Songs of Faith and Devotion is that it sounds pretty much like a Depeche Mode album, only with some new sonic tricks courtesy of Alan Wilder and co-producer Flood. Perhaps even odder is the fact that it works incredibly well all the same. "I Feel You," opening with a screech of feedback, works its live drums well, but when the heavy synth bass kicks in with the wailing backing vocals, even most rockers might find it hard to compete. Martin Gore's lyrical bent, as per the title, ponders relationships through distinctly religious imagery; while the gambit is hardly new, on songs like the centerpiece "In Your Room," the combination of personal and spiritual love blends perfectly. Outside musicians appear for the first time, including female backing singers on a couple of tracks, most notably the gospel-flavored "Condemnation" and the uilleann pipes on "Judas," providing a lovely intro to the underrated song (later covered by Tricky). "Rush" is the biggest misstep, a too obvious sign that Nine Inch Nails was a recording-session favorite to unwind to. But with other numbers such as "Walking in My Shoes" and "The Mercy in You" to recommend it, Songs of Faith and Devotion continues the Depeche Mode winning streak.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 06/16/2017
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227934569
catalogNumber: 45243
Rank: 32030


  1. I Feel You
  2. Walking in My Shoes
  3. Condemnation
  4. Mercy in You
  5. Judas
  6. In Your Room
  7. Get Right With Me
  8. Rush
  9. One Caress
  10. Higher Love

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Depeche Mode   Primary Artist
Dave Gahan   Group Member
Martin Gore   Group Member
Steafan Hannigan   uillean pipes
Alan Wilder   Group Member
Samantha Smith   Vocals
Hildia Campbell   Vocals
Andy Fletcher   Group Member
Wil Malone   Conductor
Bazil Meade   Vocals

Technical Credits

Depeche Mode   Producer
Steve Lyon   Engineer
Roland Brown   Producer
Chris Dickie   Engineer
Flood   Producer
Martin Gore   Composer
Paul Kendall   Engineer
Anton Corbijn   Cover Design,Assistant Art Design
Monica Axelsson   Visual Coordinator
David Rowntree   Reissue Producer
Wil Malone   String Arrangements

Customer Reviews