Songs of Experience

Songs of Experience

by U2U2


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


"I shouldn't be here because I should be dead" sings Bono on "Lights of Home," the second track on Songs of Experience, the long-delayed sequel to 2014's Songs of Innocence. It's not merely a turn of phrase. Two months after U2 unleashed Songs of Innocence on the world, Bono injured himself in a bicycle accident so severe he suspected he may never play guitar again. He recovered, but his misfortune derailed plans for the band to wrap up Songs of Experience swiftly, so U2 decided to take their time. A version of the record neared completion in 2016, but that year's twin elections of Brexit and Trump spurred U2 to revise the album, as they decided they couldn't release a record that didn't address such cataclysmic political events. Retro-conning the existing Songs of Experience material to suit the political climate wasn't the easiest task and the album often shows its seams, particularly when Bono decides to tackle the crisis head-on: the line "Democracy is flat on its back, Jack" arrives with a thud on "The Blackout," but it's nothing compared to "American Soul," an ode to real America where the singer and the band engage in a battle of hams. "American Soul" also features a line -- and no more -- by Kendrick Lamar, the rapper who is on the vanguard of popular music in 2017 (no less of an authority than David Bowie cited Lamar as an influence on his final album, Blackstar). Typical to many modern records, Songs of Experience is the result of many cooks: Jacknife Lee and Ryan Tedder claim the main production credits, with Andy Barlow, Jolyon Thomas, and old friend Steve Lillywhite responsible for additional production, whatever that may be. With all these hands, it's not much of a surprise that Songs of Experience feels diverse, its modernist moments -- like Bono embracing pitch-shifted vocals -- counterbalancing feints toward U2's arena rock past. [Songs of Experience was also released in an Extra Deluxe Edition featuring the album on two LPs pressed on 180-gram translucent cyan blue vinyl as well as a CD of the album with four extra tracks. The set included a digital download card, foldout poster, and Songs of Experience newspaper, with packaging including a 12" x 12" rigid box, CD digipack, and gatefold LP cover with die-cut black paper and shaded blue inner sleeves.]

Product Details

Release Date: 12/01/2017
Label: Interscope Records
UPC: 0602557977059
catalogNumber: 5797705
Rank: 161372

Album Credits

Performance Credits

U2   Primary Artist
Julian Lennon   Background Vocals
Edge   Guitar,Keyboards,Vocals
Bono   Vocals
Adam Clayton   Bass Guitar
Larry Mullen   Percussion,Drums
Steve Wilmot   Percussion
Andy Barlow   Keyboards,Background Vocals
Paul Epworth   Keyboards
Ryan Tedder   Guitar,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Declan Gaffney   Piano,Keyboards,Mellotron
Betsy Lamb   Viola
Jacknife Lee   Guitar,Keyboards
Brent Kutzle   Acoustic Guitar,Keyboards
Jolyon Thomas   Guitar,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Davide Rossi   Strings
Amy Helman   Violin
Lady Gaga   Background Vocals
Angel Deradoorian   Background Vocals
Paul Nelson   Cello
Joseph Elmhirst   Background Vocals
Nate Lotz   Percussion
HAIM   Background Vocals
Avery Bright   Violin
Barry Gorey   Keyboards
Andrew Taggart   Keyboards
Gosha Usov   Keyboards
Tyler Spry   Pedal Steel Guitar

Technical Credits

U2   Composer
Bono   Composer
Steve Lillywhite   Producer
Doug Sarrett   Engineer
Richard Rainey   Engineer
Andy Barlow   Programming,Producer,Engineer,Sound Design,Additional Production
Ariel Rechtshaid   Composer
Paul Epworth   Programming,Producer
Noel Zancanella   Programming
Sam O'Sullivan   Studio Manager,Drum Technician
Matty Green   Engineer
Danger Mouse   Producer
Ryan Tedder   Programming,Producer
Dallas Schoo   Guitar Techician
Declan Gaffney   Producer,Engineer,Additional Production
Brian Burton   Composer
Jacknife Lee   Programming,Producer,Engineer,Additional Production
Matt Bishop   Engineer
Brent Kutzle   Programming,Producer,Additional Production
Jolyon Thomas   Programming,Producer,Engineer,Additional Production
Matt Wiggins   Engineer
Christopher Henry   Engineer
Grant Ransom   Engineer
Kendrick Lamar   Introduction
Greg Clooney   Engineer
Duncan Stewart   Engineer,Guitar Techician
Brandon Collins   String Arrangements
Este Haim   Composer
Alana Haim   Composer
Danielle Haim   Composer
Rich Rich   Engineer
Kygo   Remixing,Additional Production
Nadine King   Production Director
Brandon Bost   Engineer
Drew Bang   Engineer
Tyler Spry   Engineer

Customer Reviews