Pub. Date:
Songs for Polarbears

Songs for Polarbears

by Snow PatrolSnow Patrol


$20.94 $26.99 Save 22% Current price is $20.94, Original price is $26.99. You Save 22%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, September 23


Snow Patrol's 1998 disc on Jeepster Records showcases the band's sometimes-edgy indie rock and occasionally spacy indie pop. The Edinburgh, Scotland, trio mixes tempos immediately, starting off with the crunchy "Downhill from Here" and the exuberantly poppy "Starfighter Pilot." The pace slows down quickly with the third track, the withdrawn and melancholy "The Last Show Ringing in My Ears." The borderline hip-hop beats of the fourth track, "Absolute Gravity," startle the listener, making it clear that listening to the disc is going to be a colorful ride. "Mahogany" is another acoustic-based ballad, sticking out on a disc full of non-traditional beats and chords. All of the songs highlight the band's earnest approach to songwriting. Tracks like "Velocity Girl" and "Favorite Friend" are some of the disc's catchiest and most endearing songs, calling upon a pop sensibility that's somehow different from the standard 1990s indie artists. Over-indulgent song titles like "One Hundred Things You Should Have Done in Bed" and "When You're Right You're Right (Darth Vader Bringing in His Washing Mix)" are examples of the band's unabashedly quirky approach to music. They're able to pull it off with their undeniable musicianship and musical sensibilities. On Songs for Polar Bears, Gary Lightbody appears on guitars, vocals, and keyboards, while Mark McClelland chimes in on bass and keyboards and drummer Jonny Quinn rounds out the lineup. Guest artists include Isobel Campbell, Richard Colburn, Fraser Simpson, and Tom Simpson. The album was recorded in Edinburgh, Scotland, by producer Jamie Watson.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 12/14/2004
Label: Jeepster Records
UPC: 5027731785049
catalogNumber: 4
Rank: 180411


  1. Downhill from Here
  2. Starfighter Pilot
  3. The Last Shot Ringing in My Ears
  4. Absolute Gravity
  5. Get Balsamic Vinegar... Quick You Fool
  6. Mahogany
  7. NYC
  8. Little Hide
  9. Make Up
  10. Velocity Girl
  11. Days Without Paracetamol
  12. Fifteen Minutes Old
  13. Favourite Friend
  14. One Hundred Things You Should Have Done in Bed
  15. Market Place
  16. I Could Stay Away Forever
  17. Sticky Teenage Twin
  18. Holy Cow
  19. When You're Right, You're Right [Darth Vader Bringing in His Washing Mi

Album Credits

Customer Reviews