Son of Sam

Son of Sam

by Krizz KalikoKrizz Kaliko


$16.54 $18.99 Save 13% Current price is $16.54, Original price is $18.99. You Save 13%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Often thought of as Tech N9Ne's hype man or the Strange Music label's artist number two, rapper Krizz Kaliko has been quite comfortable living in the shadow of his label boss, filling previous releases with enormous guest lists or offering conceptual efforts that already seemed "made for the fans." In its way, Son of Sam is another conceptual effort, as the title refers to Krizz's real name, Sam Watson, but that title is more a matter of pride than a guiding force, because when it comes to guests, there aren't many. Tech is here on the Man Show-worthy "Titties" ("Pink ribbons represent 'em!") plus Ces Cru ("Reckless") and Bizzy ("Girls Like That") steer Krizz toward their comfort zones of thug and strip club, respectively, but past that, there's a smattering of minor names and nothing else but the 100-pecent, break-neck speed Kaliko show to absorb. On "W.A.N.S. (We All Need Sex)," he successfully steers a sex-obsessed rock-rap number that should have the Juggaloos spurting their Faygo, while the twerking, tight "Schizophrenia" flits with dubstep and electro and is good enough to warrant a second date with both. Good times and bad intentions all, but the album winds down with a surprisingly good set of reflective power ballads, kicking off with the cathartic "Why Me" and concluding with the simple but effective "Thank God," where there could be no joy if there wasn't pain. Strange Music's love of the dramatic and dark remains in full effect, so those who think it suburban and silly should remain far away, but Krizz's most solo effort is also the most filling, even if you need to be predisposed to call it "attractive."

Product Details

Release Date: 08/27/2013
Label: Strange Music
UPC: 0853435003272
catalogNumber: 272
Rank: 82641

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Krizz Kaliko   Primary Artist
Tech N9ne   Vocals
Robert Rebeck   Guitar
Bizzy   Vocals
Makzilla   Vocals
Crystal Watson   Vocals
Barbara Word   Vocals
Icy Roc Kravyn   Vocals,Talk Box
Ces Cru   Vocals
Christopher Watson   Vocals
Kortney Leveringston   Vocals
Delynia Brown   Vocals
Gina McFadden   Vocals

Technical Credits

Brandon Evans   Composer
Richie Abbott   Publicity
Michael "Seven" Summers   Producer
Michael Summers   Composer
Samuel Watson   Composer
Tramaine Winfrey   Composer
Jonah Appleby   Composer,Producer
Donnie King   Composer
Travis O'Guin   Executive Producer
Liquid 9   Art Direction
Tramaine "Youngfyre" Winfrey   Producer
Nico Marchese   Producer
Mike S. Viglione   Composer
Manzilla Marquis Queen   Composer
Steven J. Collins   Producer
Anthony G. White   Composer
Aaron Yates   Composer

Customer Reviews