Some Things Just Take Time

Some Things Just Take Time

by ColoramaColorama


$10.79 $13.99 Save 23% Current price is $10.79, Original price is $13.99. You Save 23%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The project's first album in three years, Some Things Just Take Time is Colorama's seventh studio LP overall and, despite collecting unused songs written over a period of a decade, unlike any set in the psychedelic pop outfit's catalog. It's a spare, singer/songwriter affair by Carwyn Ellis, with production by Liam Watson and longtime collaborator Edwyn Collins. Ellis, a native of Wales, said that the songs were inspired by his admiration for American musicians, including the likes of Glen Campbell and Townes Van Zandt, as well as Tin Pan Alley and early R&B legends of vocal pop. Reflective and earnest throughout, the album relies mostly on voice, acoustic guitar, and light drums, with occasional strings and piano. Tracks range from the simple piano tune "Give It a Miss" and acoustic guitar love song "I Owe It All to You," to the elegantly countrified "Special Way" with its steel guitar, to the relatively expansive "In Your Memory." The latter offers a full combo, stringed instruments, and choral backing singers while remaining at heart a guitar ballad from the perspective of a trapped miner ("And I feel no fear in me/'Cause I'm at peace in your memory"). After nine original songs, the album closes with two covers: "Long Haired Doney," a graceful take on bluesman R.L. Burnside, and an intimate version of Sonny & Cher's "Baby Don't Go." With simple but effective arrangements and songs about loving, leaving, and the passage of time, Some Things Just Take Time is a gem of stripped-down songcraft.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/06/2017
Label: Wonderfulsound
UPC: 5060170500835
catalogNumber: 41
Rank: 80893

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Colorama   Primary Artist
Howard Gott   Violin
Sean Read   Tambourine
Luther Dickinson   Acoustic Guitar,Piano
Cody Dickinson   Percussion
James Walbourne   Dobro,Mandolin,Soloist
Carwyn Ellis   Organ,Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Piano,Autoharp,Bass Guitar,Mellotron
Sarah Willson   Cello
Jason Wilson   Double Bass
Steffan Jones   Choir, Chorus
Emma Smith   Violin
Rob Walbourne   Dobro
Luca Nieri   Shaker
Rhys Griffiths   Choir, Chorus
Steffan Huw Watkins   Choir, Chorus
Osian Gwynn   Choir, Chorus
Gerallt Rhys Roberts   Choir, Chorus
Dafydd Wyn Rees   Choir, Chorus

Technical Credits

R.L. Burnside   Composer
Edwyn Collins   Engineer
Sonny Bono   Composer
Rupert Brown   Engineer
Seb Lewsley   Engineer
Sean Read   Engineer
Liam Watson   Engineer
Carwyn Ellis   Composer
Richard Chitty   Layout

Customer Reviews