Softly with These Songs: The Best of Roberta Flack

Softly with These Songs: The Best of Roberta Flack

by Roberta FlackRoberta Flack


$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, June 29


Roberta Flack was blessed with one of the loveliest, most soothing voices in the music industry. In the 1970s, she not only appealed to pop and R&B audiences, but also fit in with the era's more serious, sensitive singer/songwriters. She scored some of the decade's biggest hits with classics such as "The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face," "Killing Me Softly with His Song," and "Feel Like Making Love," as well as her legendary duets with Donny Hathaway, all which have gone on to become standards in the pop pantheon. This single-disc set attempts to collect her best and most successful recordings from the 1970s to the 1990s, when she enjoyed the success of another Top Ten hit with Diane Warren's "Set the Night to Music" (with Maxi Priest). However, this ambitious collection, even with such stellar material, proves a little frustrating due to the omission of several key tracks from Flack's catalog, among those "Jesse," "If I Ever See You Again," "You've Got a Friend," and several others. It does, however, manage to incorporate other Flack collectibles, including her soundtrack hit "Making Love," her hit with Peabo Bryson, "Tonight I Celebrate My Love," her lovely, breezy, chart-topping 1988 R&B hit "Oasis," and a sleek 1990s house track, "Uh-Uh Ooh-Ooh Look Out (Here It Comes)." This ambitious yet frustrating collection not only highlights Flack's long, illustrious career, but also brings to attention the fact that a multi-disc retrospective on this legendary singer would be a most welcome addition to her catalog.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/22/1993
Label: Atlantic Uk
UPC: 0075678249822
catalogNumber: 782498
Rank: 27540


  1. The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face
  2. Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow
  3. Where Is the Love?
  4. Killing Me Softly with His Song
  5. Feel Like Makin' Love
  6. The Closer I Get to You
  7. More Than Everything
  8. Only Heaven Can Wait (For Love)
  9. Back Together Again
  10. Making Love
  11. Tonight, I Celebrate My Love
  12. Oasis
  13. And So It Goes
  14. You Know What It's Like
  15. Set the Night to Music
  16. My Foolish Heart
  17. Uh-Uh Ooh-Ooh Look Out (Here It Comes)

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Roberta Flack   Primary Artist,Piano,Vocals,Background Vocals
Maxi Priest   Vocals
Peabo Bryson   Vocals
Donny Hathaway   Piano,Electric Piano,Vocals
Luther Vandross   Vocals
Ron Carter   Bass
Earl Klugh   Acoustic Guitar
David Sanborn   Alto Saxophone,Soloist
Barry Miles   Synthesizer,Conductor,Keyboards,Moog Synthesizer,Linn Drum
Chuck Rainey   Bass
Phil Perry   Background Vocals
Burt Bacharach   Synthesizer
Ralph MacDonald   Percussion
Gene Page   Performing Ensemble,Rhythm
Rachele Cappelli   Background Vocals
Jim Keltner   Drums
Jerry Barnes   Background Vocals
Katreese Barnes   Background Vocals
Plex Barnhart   Keyboards
Errol Crusher Bennett   Percussion
Ray Chew   Strings,Horn
Paulinho Da Costa   Percussion
Nathan East   Bass
Michael Fisher   Percussion
Mike Fisher   Percussion
Eric Gale   Guitar
Reggie Griffin   Background Vocals
Lani Groves   Background Vocals
Jerry Hey   Trumpet
Dan Higgins   Saxophone
Craig Hundley   Synthesizer
Paul Jackson   Guitar
Jack Jennings   Vibes
Randy Kerber   Synthesizer,Piano
Brenda White-King   Vocals,Background Vocals
Robbie Kondor   Keyboards
Michael Landau   Guitar
Yvonne Lewis   Vocals
Ray Lucas   Drums
Arif Mardin   Conductor
Joe Mardin   Keyboards,Synthesizer Bass
Michael Masser   Rhythm
Sammy Merendino   Drums
Jason Miles   Synthesizer
Marcus Miller   Bass,Keyboards,Vocals,Background Vocals
Cindy Mizelle   Background Vocals
Greg Phillinganes   Keyboards
John Pizzarelli   Guitar
Bernard "Pretty" Purdie   Drums
Lee Ritenour   Guitar
John "J.R." Robinson   Drums
Andy Snitzer   Tenor Saxophone
Mark Stephens   Background Vocals
Neil Stubenhaus   Bass
Richard Tee   Piano
Steve Thornton   Percussion
Carlos Vega   Drums
Ed Walsh   Synthesizer
Brenda White   Vocals
Gabrielle Goodman   Background Vocals
Chude Mondlane   Background Vocals
Rachele Rappelli   Background Vocals
Keith Barnhart   Keyboards
Craig Huntley   Synthesizer
Neil Steubenhaus   Bass
John "4 Daddman" Robinson   Drums
Georg "Jojje" Wadenius   Guitar,Vocals
Larry Andrew Williams   Synthesizer
Dennis Collins   Background Vocals
Buddy Williams   Drums,Vocals

Technical Credits

Peabo Bryson   Arranger,Producer
Roberta Flack   Arranger,Producer
Luther Vandross   Vocal Arrangements
Barry Miles   Arranger,Producer
Burt Bacharach   Producer
Carole Bayer Sager   Producer
Eric Mercury   Producer
Gene Page   Orchestration
Gene McDaniels   Producer
Joe Brooks   Producer
Joel Dorn   Producer
Ahmet Ertegun   Producer,Executive Producer
Joe Ferla   Producer
Rubina Flake   Arranger,Producer
Jerry Hey   Arranger,Producer
Robbie Kondor   Arranger,Programming
Arif Mardin   Arranger,Producer,Vocal Arrangements,String Arrangements,Woodwind Arrangement
Joe Mardin   Programming
Michael Masser   Producer
Eugene McDaniels   Producer
Sammy Merendino   drum programming
Marcus Miller   Producer
Leon Pendarvis   Arranger
Ned Washington   Composer
Keith Barnhart   Programming
Greenberg Kingsley   Art Direction

Customer Reviews