Slant 6 Mind

Slant 6 Mind

by Greg BrownGreg Brown


$15.30 $15.99 Save 4% Current price is $15.3, Original price is $15.99. You Save 4%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 24


For the most part, this 14th album is business as usual for Greg Brown, which is very good news indeed. As always, he covers wide terrain, both musically and conceptually, and he shifts gears effortlessly, delivering a lilting love song ("Vivid") one minute and a haunting portrait of bluesman Robert Johnson ("Dusty Woods") the next. Other highlights include "Speaking in Tongues," which draws on his memories as the son of a Pentecostal preacher; the bluegrass-tinged "Wild Like a Sonny Boy"; "Loneliness House," a meditation on depression; and "Whatever It Was," a stinging attack on modern society. If this album marks any change in Brown, it's that his lyrics are getting more challenging, and at times downright mysterious. But like Bob Dylan, he knows how to write songs that are lyrically memorable even when they're hard to explain. Witness the lovely, evocative "Spring & All," which produces its magic with cryptic lines about "fog from God's cigar" and "the letters you sent back to burn." Brown's voice -- which can be gentle and soothing but is often a sandpapery growl -- remains a remarkable instrument. Suffice it to say that once you've heard Brown's voice, you won't forget it. And while Brown once claimed he could sing Hank Williams songs with even more passion than he delivers his own, this terrific album makes a more passionate performance hard to imagine.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/21/1997
Label: Red House
UPC: 0033651009825
catalogNumber: 98
Rank: 75317


  1. Whatever It Was
  2. Loneliness House
  3. Mose Allison Played Here
  4. Spring & All
  5. Vivid
  6. Dusty Woods
  7. Billy from the Hills
  8. Speaking in Tongues
  9. Enough
  10. Hurt So Nice
  11. Wild Like a Sonny Boy
  12. Down at the Mill
  13. Why Don't You Just Go Home

Album Credits

Customer Reviews