The Sitcoms of Norman Lear

The Sitcoms of Norman Lear

by Sean Campbell

NOOK Book(eBook)

$16.49 $21.99 Save 25% Current price is $16.49, Original price is $21.99. You Save 25%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Archie Bunker, George Jefferson, Maude--the television sitcom world of the 1970s was peopled by the creations of Norman Lear. Beginning in 1971 with the premier of All in the Family, Lear's work gave sitcoms a new face and a new style. No longer were families perfect and lives in order. Mostly blue-collar workers and their families, Lear's characters argued, struggled, uttered sometimes shocking opinions and had no problem contributing to--or at least, acknowledging--the turmoil so shunned by 1960s television. Significantly, not only did Lear address difficult issues, but he did so through successful programming. Week after week, Americans tuned in to see the family adventures of the Bunkers, the Jeffersons, and Sanford and Son. With a thorough analysis of his sitcoms, this volume explores Norman Lear's memorable production career during the 1970s. It emphasizes how Lear's shows reflected the political and cultural milieu, and how they addressed societal issues including racism, child abuse and gun control. The casting, production and behind-the-screen difficulties of All in the Family, Sanford & Son, Maude, Good Times, The Jeffersons and One Day at a Time are discussed. Each show is examined from inception through series finale. Interviews with some of the actors and actresses such as Rue McClanahan of Maude and Marla Gibbs from The Jeffersons are included.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781476602554
Publisher: McFarland & Company, Incorporated Publishers
Publication date: 12/24/2014
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 207
File size: 2 MB
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Writer Sean Campbell lives in New Jersey.

Table of Contents

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments vi
Preface 1

1. The Founding Family: Arrrrchie, Dingbat, Meathead, and Little Goil 3
2. The Greatest Show in Watts 51
3. Lady Godiva 66
4. Scratchin’ and Survivin’ 96
5. The Move on Up 131
6. The House of Women 148
7. Final Successes and Failures 161

Chapter Notes 173
Bibliography 185
Index 195

Customer Reviews