Sings the Songs of George & Ira Gershwin & Cole Porter

Sings the Songs of George & Ira Gershwin & Cole Porter

by Lee WileyLee Wiley


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, April 23


Lee Wiley was the first jazz singer to record a full album (eight songs in the '78' days) dedicated to the music of one composer; her "songbooks" preceded Ella Fitzgerald's by more than 15 years. The greatest recordings of her career were these four projects, the first two of which are on this Audiophile reissue. Wiley, who had an introverted and quietly straightforward yet sensuous (and somewhat smoldering) style, is heard singing eight songs apiece by the Gershwins and Cole Porter. Her accompaniment includes all-star groups headed by pianist Joe Bushkin and trumpeter Max Kaminsky (which include tenor-saxophonist Bud Freeman, clarinetist Pee Wee Russell and on four songs Fats Waller), a quartet with Bushkin and trumpeter Bunny Berigan, and Paul Weston's Orchestra. Wiley's renditions of such songs as "How Long Has This Been Going On," "I've Got A Crush On You," "Someone To Watch Over Me," "Let's Do It" and "Easy To Love" are both memorable and haunting. This reissue is a gem as is the followup Audiophile release of Rodgers & Hart and Harold Arlen songs.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/11/1994
Label: Ghb Jazz Foundation
UPC: 0762247200123
catalogNumber: 1000
Rank: 62241


  1. How Long Has This Been Going On?
  2. My One and Only (What Am I Gonna Do?)
  3. Sweet and Low Down
  4. 's Wonderful
  5. I've Got a Crush on You
  6. Someone to Watch over Me
  7. Sam and Delilah
  8. But Not for Me
  9. Looking at You
  10. Let's Fly Away
  11. Why Shouldn't I?
  12. Hot-House Rose
  13. You Do Something to Me
  14. Find Me a Primitive Man
  15. Easy to Love
  16. Let's Do It (Let's Fall in Love)

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Lee Wiley   Primary Artist,Vocals
Bunny Berigan   Trumpet
Eddie Condon   Guitar
Bud Freeman   Tenor Saxophone
Max Kaminsky   Trumpet
Pee Wee Russell   Clarinet
Joe Bushkin   Piano,Celeste
Johnny Mince   Clarinet
George Wettling   Drums
Paul Mason   Tenor Saxophone
Hymie Schertzer   Alto Saxophone
Artie Shapiro   Bass
Fred Stulce   Alto Saxophone
Sid Weiss   Bass
Paul Weston & His Orchestra   Track Performer
Clark Yocum   Guitar

Technical Credits

George Gershwin   Composer
Brad Gowans   Arranger
Frank Driggs   Liner Notes
Ira Gershwin   Composer
George H. Buck   Producer
Reg Stagmaier   Art Direction

Customer Reviews