Singles Collection, Vol. 2

Singles Collection, Vol. 2

by Dropkick MurphysDropkick Murphys


$12.64 $12.99 Save 3% Current price is $12.64, Original price is $12.99. You Save 3%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Singles Collection, Vol. 2 collects covers, B-sides, and "other crap" from the Dropkick Murphys, circa 1998-2004. Cock Sparrer, the Business, Shane MacGowan, AC/DC, Gang Green, Motörhead -- the covers connect the hardworking Boston unit to their heroes, but also make up a great punk (and rock, too) jukebox for any Dropkicks fan. CCR's "Fortunate Son" becomes a raucous street punk anthem with some absolutely killer rhythm guitar, there are two Cock Sparrer covers ("Working" and the Oi! classic "Watch Your Back"), and "Mob Mentality" is a collaboration with the Business that has a message for punk rock's fair-weather fans. News flash: it's not "Hey! Welcome!" AC/DC's "It's a Long Way to the Top (If You Wanna Rock & Roll)" was a natural for the Dropkick Murphys -- they've paid their dues and have a bagpiper in the band -- and their version is typically ragged and boisterous. "Pipebomb on Landsdowne [Dance Remix]" was "recorded at 4:30 a.m. sometime in August 1999," and there are great takes on material from Sham 69 ("Hey Little Rich Boy") and Angelic Upstarts ("Never Again"). The Dropkicks host Shane MacGowan on a suitably teetering, slurring version of the traditional Irish "Wild Rover" -- it comes complete with the audio of a raucous, beery party. Speaking of the Pogues legend, Rancid's Lars Frederiksen joins the band for "Vengeance," which MacGowan wrote as part of his first band, the Nipple Erectors. Another highlight is an amplified yet reverent version of "Victory," better known as the Notre Dame fight song. "No particular reason for recording it," the liners state, "just sounded good on the pipes." The list goes on. Singles Collection, Vol. 2 will disappoint no fan of the Dropkick Murphys, especially anyone trying to track down some of the rarer 7" and comp appearances this set collects. It's a gift to diehards from one of most honest bands in rock music today.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/08/2005
Label: Hellcat Records
UPC: 0045778046928
catalogNumber: 80469
Rank: 33281

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Dropkick Murphys   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

John Fogerty   Composer
Sham 69   Composer
Angelic Upstarts   Composer
Business   Composer
Kim Fowley   Composer
Bon Scott   Composer
Steve Burgess   Composer
Phil Campbell   Composer
Glenn Danzig   Composer
Shane MacGowan   Composer
Phil "Philthy Animal" Taylor   Composer
Angus Young   Composer
Gordon Ogilvie   Composer
Dropkick Murphys   Composer
Michael Burston   Composer
Chris Doherty   Composer
Chuck Stilphen   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Lemmy Kilmister   Composer
Iron Cross   Composer
Mickey Beaufoy   Composer
Colin McFaull   Composer
Steve Bruce   Composer

Customer Reviews