Singin' the Blues/The Blues

Singin' the Blues/The Blues

by B.B. King B.B. King
Singin' the Blues/The Blues

Singin' the Blues/The Blues

by B.B. King B.B. King


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, December 14


B. B. King is perhaps the most well-known and enduring of living blues artists. For those wondering what all the fuss is about, these recordings from the early to mid-'50s, which include his hit "Sweet Little Angel," give ample evidence of the young B. B.'s exuberance and breadth. All of the stylistic tics associated with a King show are also present, but these songs are full of youthful enthusiasm and exploration. The horns are slightly askew, King's voice constantly employs a keening, sustained falsetto, and his single-string guitar playing ranges from a clean precise sound to a slightly distorted vibrato on the Elmore James nod "Please Love Me," the shuffle "You Upset Me Baby," and the mid-tempo drag "Crying Won't Help You." Though delightfully green at times, there's a fully developed range of approaches on these recordings (marketed as his first two albums for Crown). And they fully justify why King and the smoother Texas-to-West Coast guitarist T-Bone Walker were the dominant influences on aspiring blues musicians.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 01/12/1993
Label: Virgin Records Us
UPC: 0077778629627
catalogNumber: 86296
Rank: 111729


  1. Please Love Me
  2. You Upset Me Baby
  3. Every Day I Have the Blues
  4. Bad Luck
  5. Three O'Clock Blues
  6. Blind Love
  7. Woke up This Morning (My Baby's Gone)
  8. You Know I Love You
  9. Sweet Little Angel
  10. Ten Long Years
  11. Did You Ever Love a Woman
  12. Crying Won't Help You
  13. Why Does Everything Happen to Me
  14. Ruby Lee
  15. When My Heart Beats Like a Hammer
  16. Past Day
  17. Boogie Woogie Woman
  18. Early Every Morning
  19. I Want to Get Married
  20. That Ain't the Way to Do It
  21. Troubles, Troubles, Troubles
  22. Don't You Want a Man Like Me
  23. You Know I Go for You
  24. What Can I Do?

Album Credits

Customer Reviews