Sing Like Never Before: The Essential Collection

Sing Like Never Before: The Essential Collection

by Matt RedmanMatt Redman


4 New & Used Starting at $11.75


Matt Redman is one of the most recognizable names in Christian worship music. The British songwriter has, over the last decade and a half, helped to redefine the reach of contemporary Christian "church music" by making it fresh, relevant, and inspiring -- even to those who do not believe in his God. Redman not only understands the tenets of modern rock and pop music in terms of melody, dynamics, and production, he weds these to insightful lyrics that eschew trite clichés yet underscore unwavering faith. His best songs become veritable anthems that have been embraced across the globe. Sing Like Never Before collects 15 songs from his catalog, and provides evidence. A shining example of what is found here is "Blessed Be Your Name," the CCM Top 50 stadium rocker that affirms faith even in periods of personal suffering. Other Redman hits include the title track; the synth- and string-drenched update of "Better Is One Day"; the fuzzed-out bass funk of "Dancing Generation"; and the poignant "Twenty Seven Million" (co-written and performed with rappers LZ7), which uses the life of an abducted Eastern European forced to serve as a sex slave in order to draw attention to the plight of the millions in the same situation. While it's a fact that Sing Like Never Before is for fans and church groups seeking to distill the best of the best -- and there will be arguments as to whether or not this collection actually accomplishes that -- it also serves as an excellent introduction to what Redman does so well.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/19/2012
Label: Sparrow
UPC: 5099964441924
catalogNumber: 44419

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Matt Redman   Primary Artist
John Catchings   Strings
David Davidson   Strings
Jerard Woods   Choir, Chorus
Nathan Nockels   Acoustic Guitar,Piano,Electric Guitar,Background Vocals
Jovaun Woods   Choir, Chorus
Michelle Swift   Choir, Chorus
James Duke   Electric Guitar
Kimberly Mont   Choir, Chorus
Jacob Arnold   Percussion,Drums
Terry White   Choir, Chorus
Laura Cooksey   Choir, Chorus
Matt Podesla   Electric Guitar
Debi Selby   Choir, Chorus
Jon Duke   Bass
Bryan Brown   Background Vocals
Jaime Paul   Choir, Chorus

Technical Credits

David Davidson   String Arrangements
Jim Dineen   Engineer
Andy Piercy   Producer
Chance Scoggins   Choir Arrangement
Willie Weeks   Composer
Jan Cook   Art Direction
Nathan Nockels   Programming,Producer,Engineer,String Arrangements
Lucy West   Composer
Louie Giglio   Executive Producer
Matt Redman   Composer
Chris Tomlin   Composer
Reuben Morgan   Composer
Jason Ingram   Composer
Tim Wanstall   Composer
Brad O'Donnell   Executive Producer
Jesse Reeves   Composer
Shelley Giglio   Executive Producer,Art Direction,Management
Doubledutch   Producer
Jonas Myrin   Composer
Jorge Mhondera   Composer
Beth Redman   Composer
Leighton Ching   Art Direction
Robert Marvin   Producer
Billy Whittington   Engineer
Mike McCloskey   Management
Lindz West   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews