The Silver Locomotive Mystery: The bestselling Victorian mystery series

The Silver Locomotive Mystery: The bestselling Victorian mystery series

by Edward Marston

NOOK Book(eBook)

$6.99 $7.49 Save 7% Current price is $6.99, Original price is $7.49. You Save 7%. View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


An exquisitely designed silver coffee-pot in the shape of a locomotive is on its way to Cardiff in the care of the young, talented silversmith, Hugh Kellow. It has been commissioned by wealthy ironmaster Clifford Tomkins for his acquisitive wife, who wants it to be the envy of all her friends – and enemies.

But the coffee-pot is stolen. When a gruesome murder is committed at the Railway Hotel, Winifred Tomkins is distraught. Caring little for the dead silversmith, all she can think about is her missing treasure. Inspector Colbeck and Sergeant Leeming of the Detective Department are summoned to Wales from London by telegraph and they are soon confronted by some additional crimes. The situation is complicated by the arrival of a famous theatre company and by revelations of illicit liaisons among members of the local high society. There is no shortage of suspects and Colbeck has to sift through layers of deceit to find the killer – before it is too late.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780749007584
Publisher: Allison & Busby, Limited
Publication date: 01/07/2009
Series: Railway Detective series , #6
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 311
Sales rank: 170,035
File size: 429 KB
Age Range: Up to 5 Years

About the Author

Edward Marston was born and brought up in South Wales. A full-time writer for over forty years, he has worked in radio, film, television and the theatre, and is a former chairman of the Crime Writers’ Association.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Silver Locomotive Mystery: Inspector Robert Colbeck Series, Book 6 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
HBpencil on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyable instalment in The Railway Detective series. Intriguing story that takes Detective Inspector Colbeck all the way to Cardiff, with his reluctant Watson, Sgt Leeming. The story grips you from start to finish with an interesting twist and more involvement from Scotland Yard Chief Tallis, and Colbeck's Madeleine Andrews.