Showbiz Kids: The Steely Dan Story 1972-1980

Showbiz Kids: The Steely Dan Story 1972-1980

by Steely DanSteely Dan


$19.14 $19.99 Save 4% Current price is $19.14, Original price is $19.99. You Save 4%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, April 8


Essentially a more sensibly scaled rendering of the excellent Citizen Steely Dan box set, his two-disc compilation culls 32 craftily crafted nuggets from the potentates of penetrating pop -- or, in their later years, the monarchs of enigmatic mellowness. Presented chronologically, the songs on Showbiz Kids offer plenty of follow-the-bouncing-ball cues to help you gauge the erratic evolution of Steely Dan. Beginning with the cynically sizzling rock tone of Can't Buy a Thrill tunes like "Do It Again" and "Reelin' in the Years," disc one dovetails nicely into increasingly offbeat constructions like the homicidal "Black Friday" and the Hunter Thompson-in-the-tropics yarn "Doctor Wu." The nicely annotated set's second disc picks up the thread at that frazzled end, teasing listeners with tales of glamour and distress like the patricide anthem "Don't Take Me Alive" and the prescient safe-sex ditty "The Fez" before offering a breather in the form of the burnished radio staples that dominated Aja -- notably "Deacon Blues." Steely Dan completists won't find anything new lurking under these covers, but those seeking an entry into the world of this dazzlingly complex band would be hard-pressed to do better than Showbiz Kids.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/17/2005
Label: Island Uk
UPC: 0602498117415
catalogNumber: 9811741
Rank: 25096

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Steely Dan   Primary Artist
Rick Derringer   Guitar
Donald Fagen   Piano,Keyboards,Vocals
Larry Carlton   Guitar
Lanny Morgan   Saxophone
Chuck Rainey   Bass
Elliott Randall   Guitar
Walter Becker   Bass,Guitar
Hal Blaine   Drums
Jeff Baxter   Guitar
Wilton Felder   Bass
Patricia Hall   Background Vocals
Jim Hodder   Percussion,Drums
Royce Jones   Saxophone,Background Vocals
Myrna Matthews   Background Vocals
Hugh McCracken   Guitar
Michael Omartian   Piano
Jeff Porcaro   Drums,Dorophone
Dean Parks   Guitar
John Rotella   Saxophone
Ernie Watts   Saxophone
Snooky Young   Flugelhorn
Denny Dias   Guitar
Sherlie Matthews   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Donald Fagen   Composer,Liner Notes
Michael Brecker   Contributor
David Sanborn   Contributor
Tom Scott   Contributor
Walter Becker   Composer,Liner Notes
Paul Griffin   Composer
Gary Katz   Producer
Mark Knopfler   Contributor
Roger Nichols   Engineer
Timothy B. Schmit   Orchestration

Customer Reviews