by New Guitar Summit


$13.78 $15.99 Save 14% Current price is $13.78, Original price is $15.99. You Save 14%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, January 23
3 New & Used Starting at $12.29


Because Jay Geils is best known as leader of the J. Geils Band, a rock group that had big-selling records in the 1970s and early '80s, listeners are often surprised to find out that Geils has a great love for Charlie Christian-style swing-to-bop guitar. The J. Geils Band were originally known as the J. Geils Blues Band before they had rock hits, and Geils has proven in recent years to be a fine interpreter of the 1940s swing style. Duke Robillard, founder of Roomful of Blues, has long been a lover of that music, while Gerry Beaudoin was a highly rated jazz guitarist from New England before he met Geils. Since 1997 the three guitarists have occasionally come together as New Guitar Summit. On Shivers they are joined by a fourth guitarist (Randy Bachman) on two Mose Allison songs. Bachman takes vocals on "Your Mind Is on Vacation" and "Everybody's Crying Mercy"; otherwise this CD is strictly instrumental. While five of the songs are originals by bandmembers, most of those tunes would have comfortably fit into the repertoire of the Benny Goodman Sextet that featured Christian. Each of the guitarists fares well, paying respect to the tradition while also displaying his own individuality. It is a pity that they do not trade off much or get more competitive. A bit more fire would have made Shivers more memorable, but the music is fun overall.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/08/2008
Label: Stony Plain Music
UPC: 0772532132824
catalogNumber: 1328
Rank: 106148

Album Credits

Performance Credits

New Guitar Summit   Primary Artist
Duke Robillard   Guitar
Randy Bachman   Guitar
Gerry Beaudoin   Guitar,Guitar (7 String Acoustic)
Bob Nieske   Acoustic Bass
Harris   Drums
Gordon Grottenthaler   Drums
Jay Gells   Guitar

Technical Credits

Duke Robillard   Composer
Mose Allison   Composer
Charlie Christian   Composer
Benny Goodman   Composer
Lionel Hampton   Composer
Fats Waller   Composer
Andy Razaf   Composer
Gerry Beaudoin   Composer
Holger Petersen   Executive Producer
Peter North   Liner Notes
Darcy DeSylvia   Composer
Jay Gells   Composer,Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews