She Won't Be Lonely Long

She Won't Be Lonely Long

by Clay WalkerClay Walker




Clay Walker's sophomore effort on Curb sticks close to the formula he and producer Keith Steagall pursued on 2007's Fall -- at least for nine of the album's 12 cuts. This is straight-up, mainstream contemporary country -- with an accent on what is recognizable as country music, rather than the warmed-over '70s rock that passes for much of the genre's music today. The catchy midtempo single (and title track) cracked the Billboard Top Ten, and then follow-ups were planned as of the release date. Other standouts are "Where Do I Go from You," with its dobro, mandolin, and electric guitars (and a mention of his truck in the first line) has an irresistible hook and refrain. Other tunes use cultural cliches to maximum effect, such as the rocker "Jesse James," with its over the top chanted chorus: "Sometimes I wanna be Jesus/And sometimes I wanna be like Jesse James." This cut is immediately followed by "Double Shot of John Wayne," which is a waltz (ironically enough) with a driving pedal steel, and a singalong chorus that echoes honky tonk music of the past, though its production is thoroughly 21st century. The strangest track here is "People in Planes," one of three tracks produced by Doug Johnson. Though it uses a Hammond B-3 to introduce itself, it sounds more like a calliope crossed with an early-'80s synth on an Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark track -- no lie. The tune falls into the contemporary country vein quick enough, though, and is smooth as silk. While She Won't Be Lonely Long doesn't up the bar any more than Fall did musically, it does offer exactly what radio programmers and contemporary country fans are looking for.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 06/08/2010
Label: Curb Records
UPC: 0715187918221
catalogNumber: 79182


  1. She Won't Be Lonely Long
  2. Like We Never Said Goodbye
  3. Where Do I Go from You
  4. Keep Me From Loving You
  5. Jesse James
  6. Double Shot of John Wayne
  7. Seven Sundays
  8. All American
  9. Summertime Song
  10. Wrong Enough To Know
  11. People In Planes
  12. Feel So Right

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Clay Walker   Primary Artist
John Wesley Ryles   Background Vocals
Eddie Bayers   Drums
Paul Franklin   Dobro,Steel Guitar
Brent Mason   Electric Guitar
Gordon Mote   Piano,Hammond B3
Jimmie Lee Sloas   Bass
Bruce Watkins   Acoustic Guitar
Lisa Cochran   Background Vocals
Andy Leftwich   Fiddle,Mandolin

Technical Credits

Don Cook   Composer
Barry Dean   Composer
John Kelton   Engineer
Randy Owen   Composer
Keith Stegall   Producer
Clay Walker   Composer
Neil Thrasher   Composer
Kim Williams   Composer
Greg Johnson   Composer
Wendell Mobley   Composer
Clint Daniels   Composer
Doug Johnson   Composer,Producer
Matt Rovey   Engineer
Ben Glover   Composer
Phil O'Donnell   Composer
Luke Laird   Composer
Kyle Jacobs   Composer
Joe Leathers   Composer
Cory Batten   Composer
M. Jason Greene   Composer
Ryan Tyndell   Composer
Kelly Roland   Composer
Galen Griffin   Composer
Tiffany Goss   Composer
Nathan Christopher   Composer
Lisa Hentrich   Composer

Customer Reviews