Shard & Shield (The Shard of Elan, #1)

Shard & Shield (The Shard of Elan, #1)

by Laura VanArendonk Baugh

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

He can save her life—if he sacrifices himself and those he swore to protect.

King's bastard Shianan Becknam buries himself in his military career to avoid the family that never wanted him and the dangers of drawing political attention. When the artifact intended to end an interdimensional war is damaged, the mage Ariana is trapped on the other side of the rift with her servant—only the cheery young boy is really one of the monstrous enemy, disguised as a human. Shianan is desperate to rescue Ariana, one of his few friends, but to do so requires committing treason and betraying his duty, leaving his people open to attack.

State mage Ariana struggles to survive as a prisoner of war in a world of deadly magic and unfamiliar customs. Her only ally is her former servant, now a renowned warrior caught up in political machinations. To survive, he'll have to once again take up the fight against Ariana's world.

As their people's wasted armies prepare for fresh battle that will devastate both sides, bastard, mage, and monster must set aside prejudices and rivalries to find an end to centuries of conflict, before they die as traitors.

Book 1 in a new epic fantasy series.

Other books by the author:

  • The Songweaver's Vow (Realm Award winner, SPFBO semi-finalist)
  • Kitsune-Tsuki (Luminis Prize winner)
  • Kitsune-Mochi
  • Bait
  • Con Job
  • many more

This new epic fantasy series is recommended for fans of Patrick Rothfuss and Brandon Sanderson.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940156562626
Publisher: Æclipse Press
Publication date: 07/02/2019
Series: The Shard of Elan
Sold by: Draft2Digital
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 26,992
File size: 5 MB

About the Author

Laura was born at a very early age and never looked back. She overcame childhood deficiencies of having been born without teeth or developed motor skills, and by the time she matured into a recognizable adult she had become a behavior analyst, an internationally-recognized and award-winning animal trainer, a popular costumer/cosplayer, a chocolate addict, and of course a writer. Find her at www.LauraVanArendonkBaugh.com

 

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews