Shakira [Deluxe Edition]

Shakira [Deluxe Edition]

by ShakiraShakira


$15.19 $15.99 Save 5% Current price is $15.19, Original price is $15.99. You Save 5%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, April 15


Like many eponymous albums, Shakira's self-titled 2014 set marks a new beginning: a new album for a new label after she got a new job. The new job was as a co-host on the hit American televised musical contest The Voice, the new label was RCA, and the new album was her first full-fledged pop album since She Wolf, the rather brilliant, hard electronic dance record that stiffed in 2009. She bounced back in 2010 with Sale el Sol, but that album wasn't made with the U.S. market in mind, something that certainly can't be said of Shakira. Opening up with a duet with Rihanna, and later finding space for her Voice co-host Blake Shelton, Shakira is determined to appeal to all audiences here: don't like the relentless dance of "Dare (La La La)"? Stick around for the reggae collaboration with Magic! on "Cut Me Deep," or maybe the appealing faux-folk of "23" or the full-bore adult-pop assault of "The One Thing," which may be the best cut here. Unlike Oral Fixation, which spilled over with so much ambition it couldn't be contained on a single disc, this is concentrated: every track has its purpose; none has excess. That doesn't necessarily mean that every cut is cohesive but Shakira is the rare pop star who can pull an album together through sheer force of personality. Whatever the setting, she not only sounds comfortable, she sounds powerful, and that goes a long way toward making Shakira a nice state-of-the-art pop album for America and the rest of the world. [A Deluxe Edition added three bonus tracks.]

Product Details

Release Date: 04/01/2014
Label: Imports
UPC: 0888430556720
catalogNumber: 1189422
Rank: 54081

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Shakira   Primary Artist,Vocals
Paul Gendler   Guitar
Hossam Ramzy   Conductor
Victor Indrizzo   Drums
Greg Kurstin   Bass,Guitar,Drums,Keyboards
Chantal Kreviazuk   Background Vocals
Luis Fernando Ochoa   Bass,Guitar
Derek Wells   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Mandolin,Electric Guitar
Sia   Background Vocals
Mike Busbee   Acoustic Guitar,Bass
Anye Bao   Drums
Luke   Guitar
Blake Shelton   Vocals
David Levita   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Aaron Sterling   Drums
Olgui Chirino   Background Vocals
Mateo Camargo   Keyboards
Dave Clauss   Guitar
Kid Harpoon   Guitar,Drums,Keyboards
Adam Messinger   Guitar
Shaki   Cajon
John Hill   Bass,Guitar,Drums,Keyboards
Ina Wroldsen   Background Vocals
Alex Tanas   Drums
Mark Pellizzer   Guitar
Steve Lu   Strings
Nasri   Background Vocals
Eric Eaton   Cello
Ben Spivak   Bass
Alejandro Serrano   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Federico Lorusso   Piano
David Cardenas Vasquez   Keyboards
Pablo Uribe Trujillo   Guitar,Mandolin
Hossam Ramzy String Orchestra   Strings
Milan   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Daniel Alexander   Composer
Jeff Balding   Engineer
Carlinhos Brown   Composer,Percussion Arrangement
Carlos Hernandez   Composer
Hossam Ramzy   Producer
Greg Kurstin   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
Lester Mendez   Programming
Mark Bright   Composer
Shakira   Composer,Producer,Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements,Percussion Arrangement
Chantal Kreviazuk   Composer
Kuk Harrell   Vocal Producer
Max Martin   Composer
Luis Fernando Ochoa   Composer,Producer,Additional Production
Roy Battle   Composer
Steve Mac   Composer,Producer,String Arrangements,Vocal Producer
Sam Martin   Drum Engineering
Jorge Drexler   Composer
Fernando Garibay   Composer
Sia   Composer
Mike Busbee   Composer,Programming,Producer,String Arrangements
Daniel Pursey   Engineer
Luke   Programming,Producer,Instrumentation
BattleRoy   Producer
Hillary Lindsey   Composer
J2   Programming,Producer,Instrumentation
Alexandre Lins   Producer,Engineer,Choir Production
Billboard   Programming,Producer,Instrumentation
Mateo Camargo   Engineer
Dave Clauss   Programming,Engineer,String Arrangements,Drum Engineering
Kid Harpoon   Producer
Chris Stevens   Programming
Alex Pasco   Engineer
Adam Messinger   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer,Instrumentation
Erik Hassle   Composer
Nasri Atweh   Composer
Alberto Herrera   Composer
Olivia Waithe   Composer
John Conte   Composer
John Hill   Composer,Programming,Producer
Ina Wroldsen   Composer
Alex Tanas   Composer
Mark Pellizzer   Composer
Raelene Arreguin   Composer
Tom Hull   Composer
Laura Sisk   Engineer
Mathieu Jomphe   Composer
Clint Gibbs   Engineer
Lukasz Gottwald   Composer
Jay Singh   Composer
Steve Lu   Producer,String Arrangements
Cirkut   Programming,Producer,Instrumentation
Nasri   Programming,Producer,Instrumentation
Robyn Fenty   Composer
Ben Spivak   Composer
Juan Clapera   Composer
Josep Bellavista   Composer
Jaime Levine   Management
David Cardenas Vasquez   Engineer
Nicole Levy   Marketing
Henry Walter   Composer

Customer Reviews