Shaking the Tree: Sixteen Golden Greats

Shaking the Tree: Sixteen Golden Greats

by Peter GabrielPeter Gabriel

CD(Remastered / Digi-Pak / Reissue)

$9.99 $12.99 Save 23% Current price is $9.99, Original price is $12.99. You Save 23%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Greatest-hits albums are a traditional way of buying time for artists between albums. Peter Gabriel's, entitled Shaking the Tree: Sixteen Golden Greats, arrived in December of 1990, as he was toiling away at the follow-up to his smash So, which was four years old at that point. As greatest-hits albums go, it's pretty good, containing all the hits, plus an effective re-recording of "Here Comes the Flood" and a good new song in the form of the title track. While the sequencing may leave something to be desired -- it is neither chronological, nor as supple as a good mix tape -- it does contain nearly everything a casual fan could want (nothing from the second album, though; both "On the Air" or "D.I.Y." would have been nice additions), making it an effective sampler.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/28/2010
Label: Real World Prod. Ltd
UPC: 0180030000673
catalogNumber: 67
Rank: 2902

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Peter Gabriel   Primary Artist,Synthesizer,Percussion,Piano,Drums,Vocals,Background Vocals,fairlight,CS-80,D-50,Linn
Kate Bush   Vocals,Background Vocals,Guest Appearance
Phil Collins   Snare Drums
Stewart Copeland   Drums,Hi Hat
Peter Hammill   Background Vocals
Steve Hunter   Guitar
Simon Phillips   Drums
George Acogny   Background Vocals
John Barclay   Trumpet
Guy Barker   Trumpet
Pete Beachill   Trumpet
Djalma Corrèa   Conga,Triangle
Nathan East   Bass
John Ellis   Guitar,Background Vocals
Larry Fast   Synthesizer,Bagpipes,Synthesizer Bass
Habib Faye   Bass,Guitar
Robert Fripp   Guitar
Jill Gabriel   Background Vocals
John Giblin   Bass
Coral Gordon   Background Vocals
David Gregory   Guitar
Hossam Ramzy   Tabla,Tambourine,Triangle,finger cymbals
Wayne Jackson   Trumpet,Cornet
Manu Katché   Drums
Larry Klein   Bass
Daniel Lanois   Guitar
Tony Levin   Bass,Stick
Dee Lewis   Background Vocals
Jerry Marotta   Percussion,Drums
Don Mikkelsen   Trombone
Dick Morrissey   Saxophone
Youssou N'Dour   Vocals,Background Vocals
David Rhodes   Guitar,Background Vocals
Mark Rivera   Saxophone,Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Allan Schwartzberg   Drums
Richard Tee   Piano
Simon Clark   Organ,Synthesizer,Piano,Background Vocals,keyboard bass,CS-80
Phil Todd   Saxophone

Technical Credits

Peter Gabriel   Composer,Producer,Cmi,Whistle
George Acogny   Producer
David Bottrill   Producer
Bob Ezrin   Producer
Daniel Lanois   Producer
Steve Lillywhite   Producer,Whistle
David Lord   Producer
Youssou N'Dour   Composer
Hugh Padgham   Whistle
Richard Chappell   Engineer
Marc Bessant   Graphic Design

Customer Reviews