Pub. Date:
Shake That Thing

Shake That Thing

by Preservation Hall Jazz BandPreservation Hall Jazz Band


$20.58 $21.99 Save 6% Current price is $20.58, Original price is $21.99. You Save 6%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, September 23


Featuring an expanded lineup of the Preservation Hall Jazz Band, Shake That Thing is a joyous celebration of over 40 years of New Orleans jazz tradition. Adding such New Orleans jazz luminaries as trumpeter Leroy Jones, clarinetist Dr. Michael White, and drummer Shannon Powell, the band powers through several standards and traditional tunes that easily rate as some of the most raucous, funky, and happy tracks to come out of Preservation Hall. From Don Vappie's patois vocals on "Eh la Bas" to the gospel-meets-street beat of "His Eye Is on the Sparrow," most of the various New Orleans musical styles are covered here. This is relevant, rootsy jazz that deserves to be heard well beyond the confines of the institution it sprang from.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 01/27/2004
Label: Preservation Hall
UPC: 0674511000424
catalogNumber: 301
Rank: 200907


  1. His Eye Is on the Sparrow
  2. Eh, La Bas
  3. Careless Love
  4. Shake That Thing
  5. Just a Closer Walk With Thee
  6. Little Liza Jane
  7. That Bucket's Got a Hole in It
  8. Back Porch

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Preservation Hall Jazz Band   Primary Artist
Jacques Gauthe   Clarinet,Group Member
John Brunious   Trumpet,Vocals,Group Member
Lucien Barbarin   Trombone,Group Member
Maynard Chatters   Trombone,Vocals,Group Member
Frank Demond   Trombone,Group Member
Ralph Johnson   Clarinet,Group Member
Rickie Monie   Piano,Group Member
Walter Payton   Bass,Group Member
Shannon Powell   Drums,Vocals,Group Member
Thadeus Richard   Piano,Group Member
Don Vappie   Banjo,Vocals,Group Member
Steve Blailock   Banjo,Group Member
Benjamin Jaffe   Bass,Group Member
Gregg Stafford   Trumpet,Vocals,Group Member
John Royen   Piano,Group Member
Ernie Elly   Drums,Group Member

Technical Credits

Preservation Hall Jazz Band   Arranger
W.C. Handy   Composer
Martha E. Koenig   Composer
Steve Reynolds   Engineer
Spencer Williams   Composer
Benjamin Jaffe   Producer
Public Domain   Composer
Traditional   Composer
David Cohen   Graphic Design
Sandra Jaffe   Executive Producer

Customer Reviews