Shake for Me

Shake for Me

by Mannish BoysMannish Boys


$16.70 $17.99 Save 7% Current price is $16.7, Original price is $17.99. You Save 7%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Through five years, and over as may CDs, the rotating personnel of the Mannish Boys constituted an impressive array of rhythm-section member and special guest all-stars. Shake for Me displays this potpourri of blues musicians on some classic tunes and those written by select bandmembers, each one with a special, customized feeling. With personnel ranging from duets up to horn-fired big-band charts, this quintessential backup band takes center stage on their way to deserved recognition as a premier blues group in their own right. Among the classics they cover are "Mona" welded onto the Johnny Otis evergreen "Willie & the Hand Jive" in bompity-bomp fashion à la Bo Diddley, with Bobby Jones singing; the slow jazz shuffle penned by Ray Charles, "Hey Now," again with the irrepressible Jones (check out his CD with the Mannish Boys as his backup band, Comin Back Hard); "You Can't Be Beat," a quintessential Chi-Town/Howlin' Wolf blues; Little Walter's "Last Night" with mighty harmonica man Rod Piazza; the get-down Muddy Waters number "Champagne & Reefer"; and "Number Nine Train" in a loose Hound Dog Taylor style also make the cut. Randy Chortkoff's "Educated Ways" is an original that stands out with a Bill Doggett sound, as does the lengthy jam "Those Worries" featuring Lynwood Slim on the harp. Other guests and past standout Mannish Boys include vocalists Jones, Finis Tasby or Kirk Fletcher, the legendary Arthur Adams, and harmonica specialists Mitch Kashmar, Johnny Dyer, Big Pete Van Der Pluijrn, Chortkoff, pianist Rob Rio, and guitarist Kid Ramos. The core band of guitarists Nick Curran and Franck Goldwasser, keyboardist Fred Kaplan, and drummer Jimi Bott have surrounded themselves with so many dynamic and distinctive performers for this set, making for a mind-blowing program of diverse blues that cannot help but be a top blues CD for 2010 and beyond.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/16/2010
Label: Delta Groove Prod
UPC: 0850021001490
catalogNumber: 137
Rank: 184205

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Mannish Boys   Primary Artist
Rod Piazza   Harmonica
Arthur Adams   Guitar,Vocals
Jimi Bott   Percussion,Drums,Background Vocals
Randy Chortkoff   Harmonica
Johnny Dyer   Vocals
Rob Rio   Piano
Fred Kaplan   Organ,Piano
Andy Kaulkin   Piano
Lee Thornburg   Trombone,Trumpet
Finis Tasby   Vocals
Lynwood Slim   Chromatic Harmonica
Mitch Kashmar   Harmonica
Kirk Fletcher   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar
Willie Campbell   Electric Bass,Background Vocals,Upright Bass
Nick Curran   Guitar
Kid Ramos   Guitar
Lou Castro   Electric Bass
Mike Zito   Guitar,Vocals
Jeff Fleenor   Background Vocals
David "Woody" Woodford   Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Franck Goldwasser   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Vocals,Slide Guitar
Pete Van Der Pluijm   Harmonica,Vocals
Warren Mitchell   Drums
Bobby Jones   Vocals

Technical Credits

Lowell Fulson   Composer
Johnny Otis   Composer
Ray Charles   Composer
Arthur Adams   Composer
Jimi Bott   Composer
Lester Butler   Composer
Randy Chortkoff   Composer,Liner Notes,Executive Producer
Maxwell Davis   Composer
Scott Dirks   Liner Notes
St. Louis Jimmy Oden   Composer
Fred Kaplan   Composer
Ellas McDaniel   Composer
McKinley Morganfield   Composer
Morgan Robinson   Composer
Otis Spann   Composer
Walter Jacobs   Composer
Sam Ling   Composer
Ferdinand Washington   Composer
Kirk Fletcher   Composer
Willie Campbell   Composer
Nick Curran   Composer
G. Preston Boebel   Engineer
Joshua Temkin   Artwork
John Watson   Composer
Jeff Scott Fleenor   Producer
Chester Burnett   Composer
Malcolm Wiseman   Music Business Affairs
Joseph Wade Scott   Composer

Customer Reviews