Shady XV [Bonus Track]

Shady XV [Bonus Track]


$21.23 $21.99 Save 3% Current price is $21.23, Original price is $21.99. You Save 3%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Honoring the 15th anniversary of the label Eminem founded with his manager Paul Rosenberg, Shady XV features one disc of new recordings and one disc of the label's proven hits, all of it wrapped up with chainsaw-and-hockey-mask artwork that represents the label in 2014, not so much its funkified, 50 Cent past. After all, the biggest numbers on the archival second disc include 50 Cent's ode to bottle service "In Da Club," a strip club and frat house regular, plus D12s "Purple Pills," an Insane Clown Posse-ish piece with Eminem and friends in top, albeit silly, form. The other top bangers on disc two are all from Eminem himself, which barely counts unless Shady is merely a vanity label, but the true backstory shows that D12 never became that strong, third label act because key member Proof died, while Slaughterhouse are a veteran supergroup, or in other words, simple, solid fan-boy stuff. The hyperactive, Eminem and Kid Rock hybrid called Yelawolf is the most hockey-mask-and-chainsaw stuff on disc two, but he's better suited for the forward-looking disc one, where his "Down" attacks the speakers with snarl and Southern guitar, as if Eazy-E got his truck all dirty goin' muddin'. The wonderfully weird "Vegas" from Bad Meets Evil (Eminem and Royce Da 5'9) makes one wish the Shady label boss would find more time for the project, but he's already quite stretched behind the scenes, producing or co-producing eight of the cuts on disc one, including Skylar Grey's "Twisted," which isn't hip-hop, but glittery and goth giganto-pop. Great, grand, risky, and clever moments like this make Shady XV the worthy celebratory object that it is, but don't expect a deep roster or a cohesive game plan, because the label has always been more about close friends and family. Come here looking for that, and all-star posse cuts where outsiders like Big Sean and Danny Brown stop by ("Detroit vs. Everybody") feel as big as a Marvel vs. DC crossover, while bonus tidbits, like the demo of "Lose Yourself," are unmissable bits of Shady history. [Shady XV was also released with a bonus track, an original demo version of "Lose Yourself."]

Product Details

Release Date: 11/24/2014
Label: Shady Records
UPC: 0602547069009
catalogNumber: 002228002
Rank: 52552

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Alvin Fields   Vocals
Jeff Bass   Bass,Keyboards
Herschel Boone   Background Vocals
Luis Resto   Keyboards
Mike Elizondo   Guitar,Bass Guitar,Keyboards
Dylan Wissing   Drums
Traci Nelson   Background Vocals
Tony Yayo   Background Vocals
Young Roc   Vocals
Yelawolf   Vocals
Ray Gale   Harmonica
Mike Strange   Bass
Steve King   Bass,Bass Guitar
Scott Storch   Keyboards

Technical Credits

Billy Squier   Composer
Dr. Dre   Producer
Jeff Bass   Additional Production
DJ Premier   Producer
J. Davis   Composer
Luis Resto   Composer,Programming,Additional Production
Don Robey   Composer
Sutton   Engineer
Mauricio Iragorri   Engineer
Mike Elizondo   Composer,Producer
Paul "Bunyan" Rosenberg   Executive Producer
Joseph Scott   Composer
Eminem   Producer,Executive Producer,drum programming
J. Smith   Producer
Marshall Mathers   Composer
Chris E. Martin   Composer
Willpower   Programming,Producer,Instrumentation
Michael Strange   Engineer
Denaun Porter   Composer,Producer,drum programming
Tony Campana   Engineer
Joe Budden   Composer
Curtis Jackson   Composer
Obie Trice   Composer
Sha Money XL   Engineer
Emile   Producer
Justin Bendo   Engineer
John "J. Praize" Freeman   Composer,Producer
Marc Beatty   Engineer
Alonzo Vargas   Engineer
C. Louis   Composer
Katalyst   Additional Music
Marvwon   Producer
Kirk Robinson   Composer
Emile Haynie   Producer
Alex Merzin   Engineer
P. Baril   Composer
H. Rooney   Composer
J. Scheffer   Composer
Joe Strange   Producer,Engineer
C. Jackson   Composer
A. Rogers   Composer
O. Moore   Composer
J. Ortiz   Composer
B. Welch   Composer
C. Lloyd   Composer
Witt & Pep   Producer
Sha Money   Producer
Boi-1DA   Producer
R. Arvizu   Composer
V. Carlisle   Composer
W. Washington   Composer
Parks   Engineer
D Moore   Composer
D. Wickliffe   Composer
D. Silveria   Composer
D. Campbell   Composer
D. Holton   Composer
Porter   Producer
Matthew Samuels   Composer
Mike Strange   Producer,Engineer
Steve King   Engineer
Pyro   Producer
Leland Elliott   Engineer
Jimmy Giannos   Composer,Programming,Instrumentation
Dominic Jordan   Programming,Instrumentation
AraabMuzik   Producer
Audibles   Producer
Ryan Montgomery   Composer
Sasha Sirota   Engineer
Ana Orellana   Composer
S. Benton   Composer
John Hill   Producer
Z. Epstein   Composer
B. Kruger   Composer
Dennis Webber   Composer
Holly Hafermann   Composer
Conrad Clifton   Producer
Apex   Producer
Rich Hunt   Engineer
Sara Kuhn   Cover Photo
Ted Clayton   Engineer
George Taseff   Engineer

Customer Reviews