Shadowmaker

Shadowmaker

by Joan Lowery Nixon

NOOK Book(eBook)

$4.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Caroline Cooney, and R.L. Stine comes Shadowmaker from four-time Edgar Allen Poe Young Adult Mystery Award winner Joan Lowery Nixon.
 
        When Katie Gillian and her mother move from Houston to a small Texas town, they never imagine that violence and intrigue will interrupt their six-month stay. Could the two bodies found have anything to do with the newspaper articles Katie’s reporter mother is writing—or with the shadowy figures Katie has noticed lurking outside her house at night?
 
“Strong female characters[,]…affecting and fast-paced, this mystery delivers.” –Publishers Weekly
 
“Nixon deftly weaves the ordinary difficulties of a new kid in school into a suspenseful mystery…[and her] characters are interestingly complicated.” –Booklist
 
“[A] smoothly knit novel.” –Kirkus Reviews

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780307823502
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Publication date: 09/25/2013
Sold by: Random House
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 208
File size: 2 MB
Age Range: 12 Years

About the Author

Joan Lowery Nixon was the author of more than 130 books for young readers and was the only four-time winner of the Edgar Allan Poe Best Young Adult Mystery Award. She received the award for The Kidnapping of Christina LattimoreThe SéanceThe Name of the Game Was Murder, and The Other Side of the Dark, which also won the California Young Reader Medal. Her historical fiction included the award-winning series The Orphan Train Adventures, Orphan Train Children, and Colonial Williamsburg: Young Americans.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Shadowmaker 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
caro488 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Nixon, Joan Lowery, Shadowmaker, Katie Gillian an dher mother move to small-town Texas so that her journalist mother can write a book. But the town is sure that she's there to expose the local toxic-waste disposal plant. Her friend disappears, after leaving her journal with Katie.
mysteena on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I'm trying to read more genres of YA to broaden my spectrum. I picked this one for a dollar, it was a past winner of Florida's Sunshine Reader award. I can't say that I loved it, but it was ok for a thriller/mystery (which isn't my usual cup of tea.) A girl and her mother move to a small coastal town so her mom can work on a novel. Her mom, an investigative reporter, begins to receive threats because people assume she is there to research the local waste disposal company. Throw into the mix a secret society in the high school, and all sorts of intrigue develops.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm glad this on Nook. Shadowmaker is good little mystery.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved how katie was friends with lana jean but some how feel in love with travis one of the members of blitz who at the end turned out to be that guy you should stay away from.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was ok but deffinately not one of my favorite Nixon books.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Mrs. Nixon keeps u on the edge of your seat all the way to the last page! The endings are always a surprise.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this book was amazingly scary! an excellent read! two thunbs up!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've read four of Joan Lowery Nixon's books.don't scream,playing for keeps,the seance and shadowmaker.All of them have been fantastic.Joan Lowery Nixon was an excellent writer.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was exciting from the very beginning. I think the first few chapters are what decides if the book if worth reading or worth throwing across the room. haha This book is about a girl named Katie who lives with her mom. They move from Houston Texas to Kluney Texas so Katie's mom can write a novel. At their new house there are prowlers who come every once in a while at night. Katie and her mom call the sheriff. He doesn't think much of it. Katie meets a girl named Lana Jean at school. Lana Jean likes a boy named Travis. Lots of things go on with Lana Jean and Travis, and murderings, and things. It is very enjoyable....just don't read at night if you live near a beach. It is a straight through thriller!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book kept me on the edge of my seat, and really built up to the ending, which was a total surprise. You'll never guess what happens, even though you want to! This is a great book to read, and it's very suspenceful up until the very last moment.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Katie and her mom have come to Kluney, Tex., to escape trouble for a while, but trouble seems to be lurking around every corner. In her career as an investigative reporter, Katie's mom has run afoul of those who don't appreciate her efforts to bring to light the illegal dumping of certain toxic wastes, and now Katie, missing her city friends and ballet lessons, unwillingly finds herself involved in a puzzle of her own--the disappearance of the only girl to have befriended her. In her usual taut, thrillingly grim style, Nixon merges mystery with moral outrage and stand-taking; she develops parallel mother-daughter investigations deftly, allowing the mysteries to intersect momentarily and then dart off on separate paths. Strong female characters deliver a mandate to question authority and to adhere to personal convictions, even in the face of threats and ridicule. Affecting and fast-paced, this mystery delivers just the right amount of shivers to satisfy without eclipsing its message. KC B.m.s.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read Shadowmaker by JOan Lowery Nixon, and it was really well written. The only part I was disappointed with was a abrupt ending, but all in all, it was a great book I would definitly reccomend.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is definitly another unstopible book from Joan Lowery Nixon.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The first few chapters are kinda boring but after that it has you on the edge of your seat!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was the best book I have read my whole life!! I got so scared at the end that I had to go sleep with my sister.