Shadow and Betrayal: A Shadow in Summer, A Betrayal in Winter

Shadow and Betrayal: A Shadow in Summer, A Betrayal in Winter

by Daniel Abraham

Paperback(First Edition)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, June 30


A value-priced omnibus of the first two novels of Daniel Abraham's classic Long Price Quartet—groundbreaking, unique fantasy of rare power and originality

In this omnibus edition of A Shadow in Summer and A Betrayal in Winter, the aggressively expansionist Galt empire has already conquered lands across a huge continent. But the cities of the Khaiem resist Galt's power with the andat—creatures of magic with godlike powers.

Each andat is brought into being by a "poet" who must say the right words and exert the iron will needed to control gods. The industrialized Galt war machine is helpless against the powers of the andat…but political intrigue and deep treachery combine to shift the balance of power in a world of ancient empires and immortal magics.

One man, Otah Machi, stands at the crossroads of history in these imaginary world fantasies, the fulcrum around which the wheels of epic history rotate through achingly poignant cycles of life and death, love and betrayal.

Shadow and Betrayal marks Daniel Abraham as one of today's most brilliantly original young fantasy writers.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780765331649
Publisher: Tom Doherty Associates
Publication date: 03/27/2012
Series: Long Price Quartet
Edition description: First Edition
Pages: 528
Product dimensions: 6.10(w) x 9.02(h) x 1.01(d)

About the Author

DANIEL ABRAHAM won the International Horror Guild Award for his short story "Flat Diane." He has been short-listed for the Hugo and World Fantasy Awards. His most recent novel is The Dragon's Path. He lives in New Mexico.

Customer Reviews