Set This Circus Down

Set This Circus Down

by Tim McGrawTim McGraw


You don't have to get too far into "The Cowboy in Me," the first cut on Tim McGraw's Set This Circus Down, to realize the country superstar is bringing unusual intensity to this outing. Subsequent cuts don't disappoint -- by the middle of the white-hot love song "You Get Used to Somebody," McGraw is singing with uncommon ferocity, while behind him strings gently swell and a guitar wails and weeps in dramatic counterpoint to the impassioned vocal. But McGraw is even more convincing when he ratchets down the macho a tad. The stately "Forget About Us" is effective precisely because of McGraw's low-key determination to move on at the end of the affair instead of pursuing a lost cause. Similarly, the heartfelt pleading on the light Latin-groove of "Let Me Love You" is gripping because of what's held back. Good songs and powerful but measured performances add up to another winner. In other words, it's business as usual around the McGraw household.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/24/2001
Label: Curb Records
UPC: 0715187871120
catalogNumber: 78711


  1. The Cowboy in Me
  2. Telluride
  3. You Get Used to Somebody
  4. Unbroken
  5. Things Change
  6. Angel Boy
  7. Forget About Us
  8. Take Me Away from Here
  9. Smillin'
  10. Set This Circus Down
  11. Angry All the Time
  12. Let Me Love You
  13. Grown Men Don't Cry
  14. Why We Said Goodbye

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Tim McGraw   Primary Artist,Vocals
Curtis Wright   Background Vocals
Faith Hill   Background Vocals
Larry Byrom   Acoustic Guitar
Paul Franklin   Pedal Steel Guitar
Byron Gallimore   Guitar (Baritone)
Carl Gorodetzky   Conductor
Michael Landau   Electric Guitar
B. James Lowry   Electric Guitar
Brent Mason   Electric Guitar
Rob Mathes   Conductor
Val McCallum   Electric Guitar
Gene Miller   Background Vocals
Nashville String Machine   Strings
Steve Nathan   Keyboards
Michael Omartian   Conductor
Biff Watson   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Lonnie Wilson   Drums
Glenn Worf   Bass
Curtis Young   Background Vocals
Aubrey Haynie   Fiddle
Jeff Babko   Keyboards
Michael J. Henderson   Guitar (Electric Baritone)

Technical Credits

Jeff Stevens   Composer
Anderson   Composer
Tim McGraw   Producer,Liner Notes,Concept,Direction
Steve Bogard   Composer
Dennis Davis   Engineer
Byron Gallimore   Producer,Song Assistants
Carl Gorodetzky   String Conductor
Julian King   Engineer
Randy LeRoy   Engineer
Russ Martin   Engineer
Rob Mathes   Arranger
Michael Omartian   Arranger,String Arrangements
John Paterno   Engineer
Bruce Robinson   Composer
James Stroud   Producer
Craig Wiseman   Composer
Jed Hackett   Engineer
Jeffrey Steele   Composer
Ricky Cobble   Engineer
Ronnie Rivera   Engineer
Jeff Burns   Engineer
Erik Lutkins   Engineer
Michelle Metzger   Song Assistants
Glenn Sweitzer   Art Direction,Illustrations,Digital Illustration
Samie Barela   Engineer
Greg Call   Cover Illustration
Missi Gallimore   Song Assistants
Clint Brown   Engineer

Customer Reviews