Serious Times

Serious Times

by LucianoLuciano


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Luciano is one of the most prolific artists on the roots and conscious dancehall scene. He's been cranking out several albums per year over the last decade, but what's really impressive is the consistently high quality of his work despite its quantity. This is partly due to the high regard in which he is held by many of Jamaica's top producers, who seem to hold their finest rhythms in reserve for him. On Serious Times, Luciano is working with veterans Joel Chin and Dean Fraser, who help him build powerful dancehall and modern roots grooves over which to sing his anthems of praise and admonition. The program consists largely of original songs, among which the title track and the Marley-esque "Alpha & Omega" are particular highlights. But there are some excellent cover versions as well, and a couple of them are rather surprising: Luciano's version of the José Feliciano classic "Come Down Father" sounds perfectly suited to its neo-roots setting here, and he also delivers a solid, if less distinctive, cover of Sangie Davis' "This Feeling." His rendition of Harry Nilsson's "Echoes of My Mind" (which baby boomers will remember from the Midnight Cowboy soundtrack) is given a solidly skanking rocksteady treatment that works surprisingly well. Highly recommended.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/15/2004
Label: Vp Records
UPC: 0054645168823
catalogNumber: 1688
Rank: 139134

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Luciano   Primary Artist
Dalton Browne   Guitar,Harmony
Glen Browne   Bass,Bass Guitar
Junior Chin   Trumpet
Mikey Chung   Guitar
Mark Clarke   Drums
Sly Dunbar   Drums
Michael Fletcher   Bass
Alvin Haughton   Percussion
Robert Lyn   Synthesizer,Keyboards,Overdubs,Harmony
Leebert Morrison   Acoustic Guitar
Dwight Richards   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Lenford Richards   Guitar
Ronald "Nambo" Robinson   Trombone
Christopher Birch   Keyboards
Paul Crossdale   Keyboards
Chris Meridith   Bass
Dwight Dawes   Keyboards
Nick Tucker   Harmony
Ryan Webb   Keyboards
Rochell Bradshaw   Harmony
Carol Dexter   Harmony
Chris Frazer Smith   Harmony
Mitchum Chin   Guitar
Paul "Scooby" Smith   Keyboards
Connie Campbell   Harmony
Donald "Danny Bassie" Dennis   Bass
Sharon Myles   Harmony
Althea Layne Hamilton   Harmony
Willburn "Squidley" Cole   Drums
David Anglin   Percussion
Nicky Burt   Harmony

Technical Credits

Dennis Brown   Composer
Bobby Digital   Audio Production
Bobby Dixon   Composer
Clement "Coxsone" Dodd   Composer
Dean Fraser   Audio Production
Lloyd James   Composer,Audio Production
M. Taylor   Composer
Collin "Bulbie" York   Engineer
Chris Miller   Engineer
William Richards   Art Direction
S. Davis   Composer
J. Ford   Composer
Greg Morris   Engineer
Rohan Dwyer   Engineer
Julius Papp   Composer
Joel Chin   Executive Producer
Bobby "Digital" Dixon   Producer,Engineer
Jepther McClymont   Composer
I. James   Composer
Arthur Simms   Engineer
Alberto   Engineer
Pierre Baigorry   Producer,Audio Production
Rebel Chris   Engineer

Customer Reviews