Pub. Date:
Cambridge University Press
The Selected Plays of Ben Jonson, Volume 1: Sejanus, Volpone, Epicoene or the Silent Woman

The Selected Plays of Ben Jonson, Volume 1: Sejanus, Volpone, Epicoene or the Silent Woman


Current price is , Original price is $58.95. You

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Please check back later for updated availability.


This volume contains three of Ben Jonson's greatest plays - Sejanus (1603), Volpone (1606) and Epicoene, or The Silent Woman (1609). Sejanus, an experimental tragedy written in the classical manner, was labelled a seditious work at the time of its first production and embroiled Jonson with the Privy Council. Volpone is the first of his mature comedies, with a remarkable cast of Venetian legacy-hunters: using verse of mock-heroic grandeur Jonson created in the character of Volpone one of his most flamboyant and cynical swindlers. Epicoene is a brilliant farce which makes fun of the pretensions of the courtiers, wits and bluestockings of contemporary London. Jonson was unique in his own time for the close personal supervision he gave to the publication of his plays. As a result, the early published texts of the plays in this volume carry an unusually high degree of authorial intention. In preparing this modernised edition an attempt has been made to conserve something of the author's highly individual treatment of names, verb forms and punctuation.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780521292481
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publication date: 08/19/1989
Series: Plays by Renaissance and Restoration Dramatists Series , #1
Edition description: New Edition
Pages: 464
Product dimensions: 5.51(w) x 8.50(h) x 1.02(d)

Table of Contents

Preface to the series; Introduction; 1. Sejanus; 2. Volpone; 3. Epicoene, or The Silent Woman.

Customer Reviews