Second Winter [Legacy Edition]

Second Winter [Legacy Edition]

by Johnny WinterJohnny Winter

CD(Remastered / Bonus Tracks / Digi-Pak / Bonus CD)

$19.31 $19.99 Save 3% Current price is $19.31, Original price is $19.99. You Save 3%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Second Winter, Johnny Winter's second album for Columbia, originally had the distinction of being the only album in rock history that was a three-sided double LP. Musically, 35 years after its original release, Second Winter is still an oddity. Issued by Sony's Legacy division, the set has been painstakingly remastered, and expanded by bonus cuts and an entire disc of live material. It's too bluesed-out to be a pure rock record, and too psychedelically dimensioned to be a pure blues album. Tommy Shannon calls it "power blues." And as for whatever else passed for blues-rock at the time -- Cream, Hendrix, Canned Heat, etc. -- forget it. This set is a whole different animal. Cut in Nashville with all tracks begin done within one or two takes, the energy of Second Winter is undeniable. The sheer range of styles Winter assaulted in his restless quest is astonishing too. The set begins with a blues-funk cover of Percy Mayfield's classic "Memory Pain," that adds a wealth of rock sonics to the mix. The same goes for the gritty originals like "I'm Not Sure," with its screaming electric mandolin, and the album's closer "Fast Life Rider." The latter two are textured with Edgar's stellar piano work. Then there's the album's centerpiece, the signature cover of Bob Dylan's "Highway 61 Revisited" with its burning, gut bucket slide work and Winter's bona fide revival of Chuck Berry's "Johnny B. Goode." Trad Delta blues makes its appearance here as well in "I Love Everybody," as does jump jazz in "I Hate Everybody," both of them with Winter's raucous edge. The original album is buoyed here with a pair of bonus tracks, an instrumental version of Ray Charles' "Tell the Truth," as well as the jump blues classic "Early in the Morning." Disc two in the set is an entire unreleased concert from the Royal Albert Hall in 1970 with the same band The show is a monster showcasing all the fiery craziness of Winter's nearly unbelievable guitar mastery on tracks such as "Mean Town Blues," "Black Cat Bone," "It's My Own Fault," "Tobacco Road," and "Johnny B. Goode." It is also significant for the early performance of Edgar's classic, "Frankenstein" -- it's a very different, and preferable -- version than the one recorded in the studio. All in all, fantastic sound, an excellent package, and good notes by Andy Aledort make this a welcome addition to the classic rock canon.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/19/2004
Label: Sony
UPC: 0696998573529
catalogNumber: 85735
Rank: 7943

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Johnny Winter   Primary Artist,Guitar,Mandolin,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Slide Guitar
Edgar Winter   Organ,Piano,Harpsichord,Keyboards,Saxophone,Alto Saxophone,Vocals
Tommy Shannon   Bass
"Uncle" John Turner   Percussion,Drums
Dennis Collins   Bass

Technical Credits

Willie Dixon   Composer
J.B. Lenoir   Composer
Percy Mayfield   Composer
Chuck Berry   Composer
Bob Dylan   Composer
Little Richard   Composer
Johnny Winter   Composer,Producer,Author,Audio Production
Louis Jordan   Composer
Steven Paul   Producer
Alex Atkins   Composer
Bob Auger   Engineer
Ralph Bass   Composer
Edgar Winter   Composer
Ed Kollis   Engineer
John D. Loudermilk   Composer
Tommy Shannon   Author
James H. Smith   Composer
James Smith   Composer
Sonny Boy Williamson [II]   Composer
Eddie Bocage   Composer
Lowman Pauling   Composer
Richard Penniman   Composer
Howard Fritzson   Art Direction
Jerry Rappaport   Producer
Jules Taub   Composer
Enotris Johnson   Composer
Andy Aledort   Liner Notes
R.C. King   Composer
John Christiana   Packaging Manager
Leo Hickman   Composer
Dennis Collins   Composer
D. Collins   Composer
Albert Collins   Composer

Customer Reviews