Searching for Simplicity

Searching for Simplicity

by Gregg AllmanGregg Allman


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, May 11


In his initial solo recordings, Gregg Allman tried for a more eclectic pop approach than the Southern blues-rock of his day job with the Allman Brothers Band. His later solo work, done during breaks in the Brothers' career, was much closer to the traditional ABB sound. On his first solo album since the Allmans' reformation in 1989, he again makes what is essentially an Allman Brothers Band record without the other members, except new guitarist Jack Pearson, whose Duane Allman/Dickey Betts-style slide work is all over the disc. Allman signals the same-but-different approach by opening the album with an "unplugged" version of the Allmans' signature song, "Whipping Post," and though he adds horns to some tracks for a more R&B feel, the rest of the album finds him growling through standard-issue blues-rock, some of the songs originals, some covers, among them an excellent version of "Dark End of the Street" and an arrangement of John Hiatt's "Memphis in the Meantime" that makes it sound like a Betts country-rocker. Recovering from personnel changes, the Allman Brothers Band didn't release an album in 1997; this record should help tide their fans over.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/11/1997
Label: Sony
UPC: 0074646714324
catalogNumber: 67143
Rank: 41664


  1. Whipping Post
  2. House of Blues
  3. Come Back and Help Me
  4. Silence Ain't Golden Anymore
  5. Rendezvous with the Blues
  6. Wolf's A-Howlin'
  7. Love the Poison
  8. Don't Deny Me
  9. The Dark End of the Street
  10. Neighbor, Neighbor
  11. I've Got News for You
  12. Memphis in the Meantime
  13. Startin' Over

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Gregg Allman   Primary Artist,Organ,Piano,Keyboards,Hammond Organ,Vocals
Jimmy Hall   Harp
Robert Mason   Cello
Ava Aldridge   Background Vocals
Gary Armstrong   Trumpet
Jessica Boucher   Background Vocals
Scott Boyer   Electric Guitar,Background Vocals
Mickey Buckins   Conga,Maracas,Tambourine,Shaker
Chalmers Davis   Hammond Organ
Roger Hawkins   Conga,Timbales
Kelvin Holly   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar
David Hood   Bass
Jim Horn   Baritone Saxophone
Clayton Ivey   Clavinet,Wurlitzer
Sam Levine   Alto Saxophone
Topper Price   Harmonica
Cindy Richardson   Background Vocals
Charles Rose   Trombone,Cello
Johnny Sandlin   Rhythm Guitar
George Soulé   Background Vocals
Harvey Thompson   Tenor Saxophone
Derek Trucks   Slide Guitar
Jack Pearson   Acoustic Guitar,Dobro,Electric Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Slide Guitar
Jay Wilson   Piano
Vinnie Ciesielski   Trumpet
Mark McGee   Guitar
Carla Russell   Vocals
Tommy Miller   Bass
Bill Stewart   Drums

Technical Credits

Tom Dowd   Producer
Charles Rose   Horn Arrangements
Johnny Sandlin   Producer,Engineer
Vincent Wojno   Engineer
Darron Weasler   Engineer
Roy Alfred   Composer
J. L. Williams   Composer

Customer Reviews