Saving Winslow

Saving Winslow

by Sharon Creech

Hardcover

$14.44 $16.99 Save 15% Current price is $14.44, Original price is $16.99. You Save 15%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, August 28

Overview

Indie Next List Pick · ALA Notable Children’s Book · Texas Bluebonnet Award Winner

“A winning tale of love.” Kirkus (starred review)

Perfect for fans of Charlotte’s Web and The One and Only Ivan, Saving Winslow is an uplifting modern classic in the making about a young boy who befriends an ailing newborn donkey and nurses him back to health, from New York Times bestseller and Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech.

Louie doesn't have the best luck when it comes to nurturing small creatures. So when his father brings home a sickly newborn mini donkey, he's determined to save him. He names him Winslow. Taking care of him helps Louie feel closer to his brother, Gus, who is far, far away in the army.

Everyone worries that Winslow won't survive, especially Louie’s quirky new friend, Nora, who has experienced loss of her own. But as Louie's bond with Winslow grows, surprising and life-altering events prove that this fragile donkey is stronger than anyone could have imagined.

Written in the spirit of Creech favorites Moo and Love That Dog, this standout tale about love and friendship and letting go will tug at the heartstrings.

“This heartwarming story is sure to be a hit with fans of E. B. White’s Charlotte’s Web and Kate DiCamillo’s Because of Winn-Dixie.” School Library Journal (starred review)

“Creech packs a tremendous amount of emotion between the lines of her understated prose. Animal lovers in particular will relish Louie’s hard-won triumphs and find joy in Winslow’s strength.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Woven into this narrative is a convincing portrayal of human growth and blossoming—the story is told simply but subtly, celebrating the unexpected strength of the vulnerable.” Horn Book (starred review)

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062570703
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 09/11/2018
Pages: 176
Sales rank: 27,427
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 7.50(h) x 0.70(d)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Sharon Creech has written twenty-one books for young people and is published in over twenty languages. Her books have received awards in both the U.S. and abroad, including the Newbery Medal for Walk Two Moons, the Newbery Honor for The Wanderer, and Great Britain’s Carnegie Medal for Ruby Holler.

Before beginning her writing career, Sharon Creech taught English for fifteen years in England and Switzerland. She and her husband now live in Maine, “lured there by our grandchildren,” Creech says.

www.sharoncreech.com

Hometown:

Pennington, New Jersey

Date of Birth:

July 29, 1945

Place of Birth:

Cleveland, Ohio

Education:

B.A., Hiram College, 1967; M.A., George Mason University, 1978

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Saving Winslow 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Readingjunky More than 1 year ago
SAVING WINSLOW is the latest book by author Sharon Creech. It is the heartwarming tale of a tiny donkey and the boy who promises to love and care for it. Creech fans will want to add this to their already awesome collection of her books. Louie has had some rather depressing experiences with animals in the past. Whether it is fireflies, worms, goldfish, hamsters, or kittens, they either die or run away within a few days. When Louie's father brings home a tiny, newborn donkey, Louie swears this time will be different. No one else seems to be supportive, but Louie begs them to "Think positive!" There are some rough patches, but the donkey Louie christens Winslow thrives. Many positives come from raising the little fellow. Louie makes a new friend, Nora, who gradually warms up to Winslow and the rest of Louie's family. Winslow also helps Louie occupy his mind when he is missing his older brother who is far away in the army. At just over 100 pages with short chapters, SAVING WINSLOW is perfect for any reader or animal lover looking for an inspiring read. I'll be sharing it with some 5th graders in the near future. I'm sure they will love it.
KarenfromDothan More than 1 year ago
When Louie’s dad brings home a newborn orphaned donkey, Louie is immediately smitten and volunteers to take care of him. The thing is though, Louie has a terrible track record when it comes to caring for small creatures. As in a zero percent success rate. He’s an enthusiastic and loving young caregiver though and is determined to save the baby donkey he names Winslow. An excellent book for middle grade readers. It’s all about responsibility and friendship. Ms. Creech is an award winning author and after reading this book I can see why. The story just flows, it’s so well written. I think the ending is absolute perfection. I was really charmed by this one and I positively recommend it for all young readers especially the animal smitten ones. It is a wonderful story.
BettyTaylor More than 1 year ago
SAVING WINSLOW is a truly heart-warming story of a boy befriending a sick mini donkey. Louie is used to his father bringing home fatally ill animals from his uncle’s farm. But when he father brings home a scrawny little donkey Louie is determined that Winslow (as Louie names him) will NOT die. Louis misses his brother Gus who is away serving in the military but he finds that caring for Winslow helps Louie somehow feel closer to his brother. Everyone is so sure that Winslow won't survive, especially Louie’s classmate Nora. After the deaths of a baby brother and her dog, Nora is reluctant to get close to anything or anyone. But how can anyone turn away from cute little Winslow! This is a beautifully written uplifting story of friendships and love. Perfect for ages 8-12. Thank you to HarperCollins Children’s Books and Joanna Cotler Books for the advance copy to review.