B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!


by Thievery Corporation Thievery Corporation


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, July 8


Coming off the paranoid and dark Culture of Fear, where Orwellian ideas and dub beats filled the speakers, Thievery Corporation do a severe about-face with Saudade, an album that embraces the bossa nova and Brazilian rhythms, and ups the organic material content of the group's output. Horns, strings, and nylon-string guitars are hired, rather than sampled, on an album where Thievery members Rob Garza and Eric Hilton play mostly guitar and bass. They also curate and produce, coming up with a fine set of wistful tunes and suitable, alluring singers when it comes to the former, but they come up a bit short when it comes to the latter. Vocalist Lou Lou Ghelichkhani is a wonderfully subdued siren who can deliver with all the breezy sway required for beautiful songs like "Decollage" and "Bateau Rouge," and yet the production is all strings and vocals up front as everything else falls toward the back, making these bossa nova recordings more "hot" than "warm." Leave a Caipirinha in the sun too long and it's the same kind of almost delicious, but with the same kid gloves being used on the mixing board during "Para Sempre," the sharp sonics actually help the up-and-sashaying performance from Elin Melgarejo. When Shana Halligan searches the "Depth of My Soul" on the not-so-bossa closer, the strolling bassline is punchy enough to drive home her pathos, and if there are Brazilian spy films, "Claridad" and vocalist Natalia Clavier are spot-on for their soundtracks. The woozy "Nos Dois" with Karina Zeviani ups the Thievery Corp content (nigh time production and notes that dissolve before they disappear) and suggests what could have been if Saudade better balanced its reverence and reverb.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 04/01/2014
Label: Eighteenth Street
UPC: 0795103022027
catalogNumber: 220
Rank: 7413


  1. Décollage
  2. Meu Nego
  3. Quem Me Leva
  4. Firelight
  5. Sola In Citta
  6. No More Disguise
  7. Saudade
  8. Claridad
  9. Nos Dois
  10. Le Coeur
  11. Para Sempre
  12. Bateau Rouge
  13. Depth of My Soul

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Thievery Corporation   Primary Artist
Eric Hilton   Bass,Group Member
Rob Garza   Guitar,Keyboards,Group Member
Shana Halligan   Vocals
Federico Aubele   Bass,Guitar
Mateo Monk   Guitar
Conrado Bokoles   Bass,Guitar
Karina Zeviani   Vocals
Natalia Clavier   Vocals
Mike Lowery   Drums
Roberto Santos   Percussion
Jeff Franca   Percussion,Drums
LouLou Ghelichkhani   Vocals
Frank Mitchell   Horn
Enea Diotaiuti   Keyboards
Justin Parrott   Bass
Elin Melgarejo   Vocals
Columbia Heights Ensemble   Strings

Technical Credits

Greg Gordon   Vocal Engineer
Thievery Corporation   Producer
Neal Ashby   Art Direction
Chris "Stone" Garrett   Producer,Engineer

Customer Reviews