Satellite [Japan Bonus Tracks]

Satellite [Japan Bonus Tracks]

by P.O.D.P.O.D.

CD(German Import)

$22.79 $23.99 Save 5% Current price is $22.79, Original price is $23.99. You Save 5%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, April 13


Don't let anyone tell you different: The Fundamental Elements of Southtown was a promising major-label debut for POD, an album that deservedly thrust them into the early-2000s nu-metal spotlight. Plus, the fact that POD stands as one of the very few metal bands with a positive outlook and an undeniable good-natured attitude makes them even more promising for a genre that's long been plagued by the darker side of life. But there's a reason why second albums are often called "long awaited." And it looks like, in the case of POD, the wait wasn't worth it. Satellite is a revealing album, for sure; unfortunately, the word "revealing" has derogatory connotations in this case. What gets revealed on Satellite is not the rap-metal masterpiece that many were waiting for, but rather that POD aren't much more than rap-metal artifice. From the opening song, the album is overtly calculated. It's quite difficult to endure, actually, because every single member of the band has talent -- and you can hear it on the album, whether it's Sonny's rhyming ability or Traa's omnipresent basslines. But this talent is sadly compromised by clearly targeted songwriting. And, no, the songs aren't targeted at critics or old people, but rather the lucrative teen market -- you know, the same people who bought all those Limp Bizkit albums. This couldn't be more obvious than on "Youth of the Nation," which seems to be some sort of rallying call for all the youth of America. Of course, since this album is indeed so calculated and manufactured, it should appeal to a rather large demographic, which it indeed did. [The Japanese release includes one bonus track, the "RTP Remix" of "Rock the Party."]

Product Details

Release Date: 01/13/2008
Label: Atlantic Uk
UPC: 0075679309525
catalogNumber: 793095
Rank: 109144

Album Credits

Performance Credits

P.O.D.   Primary Artist
Eek-A-Mouse   Background Vocals
H.R.   Background Vocals
Howard Benson   Keyboards,Loops
Larry Corbett   Cello
Joel Derouin   Violin
Suzie Katayama   Conductor
Ayanna Williams   Vocals
Christian Lindskog   Background Vocals
Wuv   Drums,Vocals
Marcos   Guitar,Vocals
Traa   Bass,Vocals
Meagan Moore   Vocals
Jonnie Hall   Vocals
D.J. Harper   Vocals
Nils Montan   Vocals
Healey Moore   Vocals
Colin Sasaki   Vocals

Technical Credits

Howard Benson   Producer
Bobby Brooks   Pro-Tools
Rhys Fulber   Programming,Remixing
Steve Russell   Pre-production Assistant,Guitar Techician
Randy Staub   Engineer
Suzie Katayama   String Arrangements
Larry Freemantle   Art Direction
Jill Greenberg   Art Direction
P.O.D.   Producer,Art Direction
Hiro Arishima   Liner Notes
Hatsumi Sakoda   Contributor
Chris "Sleepy J" Vaughan-Jones   Pro-Tools
Rhys Rulber   Programming,Remixing

Customer Reviews