by Little MixLittle Mix
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The sophomore full-length album from Little Mix, 2013's Salute, showcases the British all-girl group's bright, high-energy pop music. The album follows up the former X Factor champions' 2012 debut, DNA. Once again, this album features the vocal talents of Little Mix members Perrie Edwards, Jesy Nelson, Leigh-Anne Pinnock, and Jade Thirlwall. Surrounded by a sea of similarly inclined girl group acts like Fifth Harmony and the Saturdays, Little Mix do a nice job of standing out from the crowd here. This is not so much due to any reinvention of the pop wheel (although they do sound a lot more Americanized than their British contemporaries); what separates them is great songwriting and production, and on that score Salute is a big win for Little Mix. This time around, Little Mix worked with a handful of big-name producers including Future Cut (Lily Allen, Shakira), MNEK (Rudimental, Misha B), TMS (Emeli Sandé, Olly Murs), and Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis (Janet Jackson, Mariah Carey). The result is that they have a heavier, more R&B and hip-hop-influenced sound on Salute than they did on DNA. In that sense, Little Mix are more in line with acts like Rihanna, Miley Cyrus, and Beyoncé. Twenty years on from the days when En Vogue and TLC reigned as R&B divas, their distinctive '90s production sound is back in vogue and Little Mix are clearly enamored with it. Cuts like "About the Boy," "Mr. Loverboy," and "Move" have a strong '90s club aesthetic that smartly bridges the gap between vintage house music and contemporary electronic dance music of the 2000s. Ultimately, while Salute retains all of Little Mix's infectious, teen-friendly ingredients, it reveals a new recipe for fans whose palates have matured right along with the band.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/04/2014
Label: Sony
UPC: 0888837893626
catalogNumber: 378936
Rank: 174938

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Little Mix   Primary Artist
Mark Berrow   Strings
Simon Clarke   Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone
Nick Holland   Celli
Kick Horns   Horn
Martin Loveday   Strings
Tim Sanders   Tenor Saxophone
Sonia Slany   Strings
Paul Spong   Trumpet,Soloist
Cathy Thompson   Strings
Tom Barnes   Bass,Drums
Peter Lale   Strings
Patrick Kiernan   Strings
Boguslaw Kostecki   Strings
Frank Schaefer   Strings
Bruce White   Strings,Viola
Andrew Parker   Strings
David Daniels [cello]   Strings
Rolf Wilson   Violin,Leader
Richard Henry   Bass Trombone
Rachel Bolt   Strings
Deborah Widdup   Strings
Emlyn Singleton   Strings
Martin Anderson   Guitar
Duvall   Background Vocals
Richard George   Violin
Dave Liddell   Trombone
Cliff Masterson   Conductor
Laura Melhuish   Violin
Jonathan Hill   Violin
Ryan Quigley   Trumpet
Lucy Morgan   Viola
Jamie Scott   Piano
Perry Montague-Mason   Strings
Timothy Grant   Viola
Kerenza Peacock   Violin
Thomas Bowes   Strings
Kiris Houston   Piano
Fred Ball   Percussion
Iain James   Background Vocals
Christopher Tombling   Strings
Nerys Richards   Celli
Ben Kohn   Bass,Guitar,Piano
Marianne Haynes   Violin
Tom Piggott-Smith   Violin,Leader
Peter Kelleher   Keyboards
Maegan Cottone   Background Vocals
Jeremy Isaac   Violin
Camille Purcell   Background Vocals
MNEK   Background Vocals
Guy "Wu Twang" Clangley   Guitar
Reuben James   Piano
Steve Morris   Violin

Technical Credits

Simon Clarke   Arranger
Tim Sanders   Arranger
Tom Barnes   Composer
Ash Howes   Composer,Programming,Producer,Instrumentation
Shaznay Lewis   Composer
Bradford Ellis   Composer
Duvall   Producer,Engineer,Vocal Arrangements
Cliff Masterson   String Arrangements
Jamie Scott   Composer
Rick Parkhouse   Composer
Ayak Thiik   Composer,Vocal Arrangements
Fred Ball   Programming,Producer
Philippe Marc Anquetil   Vocal Producer
Iain James   Composer,Vocal Arrangements,Vocal Engineer,Vocal Producer
Henrik Michelsen   Composer,Programming,Instrumentation
Tom Hough   Engineer
Jordan Dollar   Composer
Ryan Williamson   Composer
Ben Kohn   Composer
Richard "Biff" Stannard   Composer,Programming,Producer,Instrumentation
Little Nikki   Composer
Electric   Producer
Jez Ashurst   Programming,Instrumentation
Nathan Duvall   Composer
Nicky D'silva   Programming,Additional Production
Peter Kelleher   Composer
Maegan Cottone   Composer,Engineer,Vocal Arrangements,Vocal Engineer,Vocal Producer
Ben Collier   String Arrangements,Vocal Engineer
Roz Colls   String Contractor
George Tizzard   Composer
Edvard Førre Erfjord   Composer,Programming,Instrumentation
Uzoechi Emenike   Composer
Camille Purcell   Composer,Vocal Arrangements
MNEK   Programming,Producer,Engineer
Rykeyz   Producer,Engineer
Ben "Bengineer" Chang   Vocal Engineer
Roma Martyniuk   Art Direction
Perrie Edwards   Composer
Leigh-Anne Pinnock   Composer
Jesy Nelson   Composer
Jade Thirlwall   Composer
TMS   Producer,Vocal Engineer
Sam Klempner   Vocal Engineer

Customer Reviews